Postwar Polish Poetry: Third Expanded Edition by Czeslaw MiloszPostwar Polish Poetry: Third Expanded Edition by Czeslaw Milosz

Postwar Polish Poetry: Third Expanded Edition

byCzeslaw MiloszEditorCzeslaw Milosz

Paperback | July 8, 1983

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 204 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


This expanded edition of Postwar Polish Poetry (which was originally published in 1965) presents 125 poems by 25 poets, including Czeslaw Milosz and other Polish poets living outside Poland. The stress of the anthology is on poetry written after 1956, the year when the lifting of censorship and the berakdown of doctrines provoked and explosion of new schools and talents. The victory of Solidarity in August 1980 once again opened new vistas for a short time; the coup of December closed that chapter. It is too early yet to predict the impact these events will have on the future of Polish poetry.
Czeslaw Milosz (1911-2004) was born in Lithuania and was Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature at the University of California, Berkeley. In 1980 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature.
Title:Postwar Polish Poetry: Third Expanded EditionFormat:PaperbackDimensions:180 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.63 inPublished:July 8, 1983Publisher:University of California Press

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0520044762

ISBN - 13:9780520044760

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

Poets in this Volume

Leopold Staff
Antoni Slonimski
Jaroslaw Iwaszkiewicz
Kazimierz Wierzynski
Aleksander Wat
Julian Przybos
Mieczyslaw Jastrun
Witold Gombrowicz
Adam Wazyk
Anna Swirszczynska
Czeslaw Milosz (poems: Dedication; A Poor Christian Looks at the Ghetto; A Song on the End of the World; From 'Throughout Our Lands'; Advice; From 'Bobo's Metamorphosis')
Tadeusz Rozewicz
Tymoteusz Karpowicz
Miron Bialoszewski
Wislawa Szymborska
Zbigniew Herbert
Tadeusz Nowak
Bogdan Czaykowski
Jerzy Harasymowicz
Stanislaw Grochowiak
Jaroslaw Marek Rymkiewicz
Ernest Bryll
Urszula Koziol
Stanislaw Baranczak
Adam Zagajewski