Precious Cargo: My Year Of Driving The Kids On School Bus 3077

byCraig Davidson

Paperback | April 12, 2016

Precious Cargo: My Year Of Driving The Kids On School Bus 3077 by Craig Davidson
$21.93 online 
$24.95 list price save 12%
Earn 110 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

For readers of Kristine Barnett's The Spark, Andrew Solomon's Far From the Tree and Ian Brown's The Boy in the Moon, here is a heartfelt, funny and surprising memoir about one year spent driving a bus full of children with special needs.

With his last novel, Cataract City, Craig Davidson established himself as one of our most talented novelists. But before writing that novel and before his previous work, Rust and Bone, was made into a Golden Globe-nominated film, Davidson experienced a period of poverty, apparent failure and despair. In this new work of riveting and timely non-fiction, Davidson tells the unvarnished story of one transformative year in his life and of his unlikely relationships with a handful of unique and vibrant children who were, to his initial astonishment and bewilderment, and eventual delight, placed in his care for a couple of hours each day--the kids on school bus 3077.
     One morning in 2008, desperate and impoverished while trying unsuccessfully to write, Davidson plucked a flyer out of his mailbox that read, "Bus Drivers Wanted." That was the first step towards an unlikely new career: driving a school bus full of special-needs kids for a year. Armed only with a sense of humour akin to that of his charges, a creative approach to the challenge of driving a large, awkward vehicle while corralling a rowdy gang of kids, and unexpected reserves of empathy, Davidson takes us along for the ride. He shows us how his evolving relationship with the kids on that bus, each of them struggling physically as well as emotionally and socially, slowly but surely changed his life along with the lives of the "precious cargo" in his care. This is the extraordinary story of that year and those relationships. It is also a moving, important and universal story about how we see and treat people with special needs in our society.

CRAIG DAVIDSON was born and grew up in St. Catharines, Ontario, near Niagara Falls. He has published four books of literary fiction, including Rust and Bone, which was made into a Golden Globe-nominated film of the same name, and Cataract City, which was shortlisted for the Giller Prize and the Trillium Book Prize, was a national bests...
Loading
Title:Precious Cargo: My Year Of Driving The Kids On School Bus 3077Format:PaperbackProduct dimensions:320 pages, 8.23 X 5.7 X 0.85 inShipping dimensions:320 pages, 8.23 X 5.7 X 0.85 inPublished:April 12, 2016Publisher:Knopf CanadaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0345810511

ISBN - 13:9780345810519

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: