Preservation: The Art And Science Of Canning, Fermentation And Dehydration by Christina WardPreservation: The Art And Science Of Canning, Fermentation And Dehydration by Christina Ward

Preservation: The Art And Science Of Canning, Fermentation And Dehydration

byChristina WardIntroduction byNancy Singleton Hachisu

Paperback | June 30, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$32.10 online 
$37.50 list price save 14%
Earn 161 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

More than a cookbook, Preservation: The Art and Science of Canning, Fermentation and Dehydration demystifies the scientific concepts that inform the methods of food preservation in an easy to understand way. Taking Julia Child as her inspiration, certified Master Food Preserver Christina Ward has collected and translated both the scientific and experiential information that has long been the sole domain of academic scientists and elite chefs.Fueled by her mission to correct online misinformation and scientifically outdated materials, Ward guides readers through a comprehensive survey of the methods that will ensure your preservation projects are safe and delicious. Included are highly adaptable recipes that demonstrate every method and technique of preservation.Foreward by Nancy Singleton Hachisu, an expert in Japanese food traditions. Her second book, Preserving the Japanese Way, was nominated for the 2016 James Beard Award in the International Cookbook category. For fans of Alton Brown, Kenji Alt-Lopez, and Harold McGee, Preservation: The Art and Science of Canning, Fermentation and Dehydration is the guide you never knew you needed. You'll never look at a jar of strawberry jam the same way.Chapters include information on freezing, pressure canning, hot-water bath and atmospheric canning, dehydration, fermentation, smoking, and curing. Also included are a detailed source guide and recommendations.Christina Ward teaches notoriously raucous preservation classes and serves as a volunteer mentor to urban farmers, small-scale food producers, and question answerer for people all over the country trying to save their pickles from disaster. Her love of teaching is evident on every page as complicated scientific concepts are simplified and explained with precision and humor. More than a cookbook, Preservation: The Art and Science of Canning, Fermentation and Dehydration demystifies the scientific concepts that inform the methods of food preservation in an easy to understand way. Taking Julia Child as her inspiration, certified Master Food Preserver Christina Ward has collected and translated both the scientific and experiential information that has long been the sole domain of academic scientists and elite chefs.Fueled by her mission to correct online misinformation and scientifically outdated materials, Ward guides readers through a comprehensive survey of the methods that will ensure your preservation projects are safe and delicious. Included are highly adaptable recipes that demonstrate every method and technique of preservation.Foreward by Nancy Singleton Hachisu, an expert in Japanese food traditions. Her second book, Preserving the Japanese Way, was nominated for the 2016 James Beard Award in the International Cookbook category. For fans of Alton Brown, Kenji Alt-Lopez, and Harold McGee, Preservation: The Art and Science of Canning, Fermentation and Dehydration is the guide you never knew you needed. You'll never look at a jar of strawberry jam the same way.Chapters include information on freezing, pressure canning, hot-water bath and atmospheric canning, dehydration, fermentation, smoking, and curing. Also included are a detailed source guide and recommendations.Christina Ward teaches notoriously raucous preservation classes and serves as a volunteer mentor to urban farmers, small-scale food producers, and question answerer for people all over the country trying to save their pickles from disaster. Her love of teaching is evident on every page as complicated scientific concepts are simplified and explained with precision and humor.
Christina Ward is a Wisconsin native and Master Food Preserver for Milwaukee County. Through her popular food preservation classes, she has taught thousands of people to safely can, dehydrate, and ferment. She credits the punk rock/DIY scene for instilling a sense of community of sharing. Through her food preservation and teaching work...
Loading
Title:Preservation: The Art And Science Of Canning, Fermentation And DehydrationFormat:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.92 inPublished:June 30, 2017Publisher:ProcessLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1934170690

ISBN - 13:9781934170694

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Preservation is a one-stop compendium on pickling, drying, and otherwise immortalizing virtually any munchie you can imagine, which can then be saved long-term for just the right post-pot pig-out. Merry JaneChristina Ward's book Preservation is a surprisingly sprightly look at the history and practice of food preservation, complete with recipes for everything from kombucha to kimchee to jam. Grumpy Book ReviewsThe book is flawlessly arranged, with careful summaries of the material and cautionary tales: After all, we are dealing here with matters of potential sickness, life and death. But the reader never feels daunted - preservation is a social process, like all labor, and Ms. Ward gives you the confidence to begin with the clearest possible step-by-step instructions. And it is also a very funny book. Even if you never pickle a single tomato, Preservation not only preserves the mind but spikes it with a healthy dose of vinegar and the sweetness of a nightjar's song. CounterPunch MagazineWith its deeply researched advice, some historical background about food preservation and recipes - from garlic jelly and mak kimchi to spicy Guinness Stout mustard and green tomato pie filling - Preservation is a treasure. Edible Door MagazineFor canners who like a goodly dose of science with their jams and pickles, there is no better book than Christina Ward's comprehensive volume. She is a master food preserver who digs into the hows and whys of water activity, pectin, and the boiling water bath process. Food in Jars