Pretty Crooked

Paperback | February 18, 2014

byElisa Ludwig

not yet rated|write a review

Pretty Little Liars meets Heist Society in this exciting and flirtatious book about a high school girl whose innocent game of Robin Hood spirals way out of control.

At first, Willa’s plan to take from the rich kids at Valley Prep and give to the poor ones seems easy. Her daredevil stunts are thrilling. And keeping secrets helps her play hard-to-get with Aidan Murphy, Prep’s most notorious bad boy. But when the cops start investigating and her friends begin to seek revenge, Willa realizes her walk on the wild side is just beginning.

Fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Ally Carter, and Sara Shepard will love the feisty heroine, clever heists, and playful romance in this series. 

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.50

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

Pretty Little Liars meets Heist Society in this exciting and flirtatious book about a high school girl whose innocent game of Robin Hood spirals way out of control.At first, Willa’s plan to take from the rich kids at Valley Prep and give to the poor ones seems easy. Her daredevil stunts are thrilling. And keeping secrets helps her play...

From the Jacket

Willa's secret plan seems all too simple: Take from the rich kids at Valley Prep and give to the poor ones.Yet Willa's turn as Robin Hood at her ultra-exclusive high school is anything but. Bilking her "friends"—known to everyone as the Glitterati—is far from easy. And delivering care packages to the scholarship girls is way more fun t...

Elisa Ludwig enjoys writing about teen outlaws, even though she herself has never been one.Pretty Wantedis the final novel in the Pretty Crooked trilogy. Elisa lives in Philadelphia.

other books by Elisa Ludwig

Coin Heist
Coin Heist

Hardcover|Jun 6 2014

$23.50

Pretty Wanted
Pretty Wanted

Kobo ebook|Mar 17 2015

$11.99

Pretty Sly
Pretty Sly

Kobo ebook|Mar 18 2014

$11.99

see all books by Elisa Ludwig
Format:PaperbackDimensions:384 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.86 inPublished:February 18, 2014Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062066072

ISBN - 13:9780062066077

Customer Reviews of Pretty Crooked

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Descent but hopefully there will be a second one. First off I have to state that I had no idea this was or even if it is a series instead of a stand-alone book. That took me by surprise, but the ending and series of events that will lead into the next one left me feeling interested in the series. If you’re looking for that high-school drama craze that leaves you wanting to punch the popular girls for thinking that they are higher than everyone else, and one where you see someone standing up for equality, especially one that does currently have it good, then this is the book for you. Plus, it’s a modern day Robin Hood and really where can you go wrong with indulging in something like that. Elisa Ludwig brings you into the world of the rich, the famous, and the young elite and introduces you through a character that has never really had anything more than her mom and their car. Not only is Willa still trying to make reality out of the dream world that she now inhabits but she’s trying to navigate the world of the young and uber rich and she discovers that its not all it cracked up to me and that some people need to be knocked down from their pedestal. Ludwigs has some pretty realistic characters and pretty realistic situation that will hopefully reach across to her readers and make them consider their emotions and actions on the subject of class inequality. Good: Willa—Although her choice may be faulty her actions were good intentions Aidan—Um…sexy bad boy with a sense of humour…enough said. And what did Aidan do to get himself kick out????? Tre—Another sexy bad…I think there might be something here in the future. Ah love triangles! Bad: Alright so there is the obvious…is this a series? So far I’ve found nothing to state that there will be another in the series, however, the book leads us to believe that there is…so here is to hoping. Secondly…the book was a little slow. Although the events that happen keep you interested the major stuff happen at the end. I sort of wish there would have been a few ‘close calls’ something to keep your heart racing while you’re waiting for the climactic end to happen, but there wasn’t. So although I still liked it and will read the next one I found it could have been a bit better. Maybe even a little more romance going on? Also, Ludwig is a great writer but I found there could have been a bit more humour Overall (Writing style, story line, and general): Overall I found Ludwig a rather enjoyable author. Her story was well written and I was never confused with her meaning. She made everything crystal clear. Another thing I really liked is that when she did have some humourous moments they were well placed and came across beautifully. I also liked her choice of topic and her realistic characters, the kind that you just can’t wait to see them get what’s coming to them. View more of my review and others at my blog: www.mynotsovacantshelf.blogspot.com
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Fun Novel About a Modern Day Robin Hood *Copy provided by publisher for review* In regards to Pretty Crooked by Elisa Ludwig, I really don't think I could have picked a better moment to read it. I had discovered that Pretty Crooked was my next to-read title on my review schedule immediately after finishing A.C Gaughen's Scarlet, a novel that uses the tale of Robin Hood. I couldn't help but think how perfect it was that I was reading Pretty Crooked next, a novel that also similarly uses the tale of Robin Hood in it's plot. In this modernized Robin Hood retelling by Elisa Ludwig, readers meet protagonist Willa, a high school sophomore who's recently moved to Arizona with her artist mother. There, Willa begins to attend an elite prep school paid by the money her mother has been fortunate enough to make by selling her paintings. However, what she doesn't expect to discover at her new prep school is that the Glitterati, the elite group of rich kids at school, look down upon the poor and scholarship-dependent students. That's when Willa comes up with the ultimate secret plan; take from the Glitterati and give to the ostracized scholarship girls. In Pretty Crooked, Willa takes from the rich, gives to the poor, and begins to fall head over heels for the notoriously gorgeous Aidan Murphy. Pretty Crooked by Elisa Ludwig, surprisingly, started off on a fairly exhilarating and action-packed note. The first chapter introduced a Willa that was full of spunk, a character with a tough girl interior that I instantly connected with. Admittedly so, throughout Pretty Crooked, she did a few things that didn't really settle very well for me. There were instances where I judged her common sense quite a bit, wondering what good she could possibly believe would come of her poor judgment, however I couldn't help loving where it led her. Despite that, Willa was an excellent character that I couldn't help wanting to following throughout the novel! Furthermore, Pretty Crooked featured Elisa Ludwig's quirky writing, which was one particular aspect of the novel that I couldn't help adoring! It truly brought a wonderful teenage realism to her characters that made each of her characters believable. Additionally, I found Pretty Crooked to be quite a laid back and fun read. Unfortunately, towards the end of the novel, the plot began to get quite predictable and I couldn't help losing interest. I found that the first portion of Pretty Crooked held so much more action and excitement versus the last portion of the novel- it was rather disappointing. Despite that, I wholeheartedly felt that Pretty Crooked ended on a wonderful note! Pretty Crooked by Elisa Ludwig was a fun and laid back read that loosely used the classic and beloved tale of Robin Hood. Young adult readers will certainly want to add this read to their already growing to-read piles!
Date published: 2012-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun, Fabulous, and Surprisingly Heartfelt! I LOVED THIS BOOK. I can't even begin to explain how much! I thought it'd just be a cute novel that would keep me highly entertained — and it was, but it was also so much more. Pretty Crooked was book that I could gush about for weeks and still have things to say! Robin Hood had always been one of my favourite stories, and Pretty Crooked only increased my love for it! This was more than just a modern re-telling of a classic. Elisa Ludwig created an extremely fun story that had lovable characters, a well-written voice, and the perfect REALNESS factor that made everything more believable and enjoyable. I adored Willa! Fifteen, bubbly, sweet, and witty, she was a character I connected with instantly and found myself rooting for with everything she did. And I expected Aiden to be just another cookie-cutter bad boy, but he was actually such a sweet, funny, and layered guy! ♥ Plus, I loved Willa's relationship with their mom and her friends too. A lot of books nowadays focus only on the main characters and their romance, so it was refreshing to read about a full cast of amazing characters. I loved every single one! Hilarious, heartwarming, and 100% entertaining, Pretty Crooked has earned its place high on my favourites list! I loved everything about it. If you haven't added this to your TBR pile yet, then I highly recommend that you do because Elisa Ludwig is an author worth waiting for! BUY or BORROW?: Oh my gosh, buy this book for sure!! I really want to buy two copies for myself when it comes out: one to look gorgeous on my shelf, and another to carry around in my purse so I can re-read it everywhere! x) It was that amazing!
Date published: 2012-01-14

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Filled with mystery, high-tension heists, and flirting with an enigmatic bad boy, Pretty Crooked kept me hooked right up to the action-packed ending.”