Seven Days by Patrick SenécalSeven Days by Patrick Senécal

Seven Days

byPatrick SenécalTranslated byHoward Scott, Phyllis Aronoff

Paperback | January 1, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.05 online 
$22.00 list price save 31%
Earn 75 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

For fans of Stephen King’s Misery and Jo Nesbø’s The Snowman comes an engrossing thriller about a monster who becomes a victim and a victim who becomes a monster. From Patrick Senécal, the Quebec author who has sold over a million books worldwide.

One sunny fall day, Dr. Bruno Hamel’s life changes forever.

His beloved seven-year-old daughter, Jasmine, is the victim of a tragic crime. Grief-stricken, Hamel sets in play a meticulous plan. He will kidnap the man responsible for his daughter’s death and make him pay horribly for what he has done. He manages to ambush a police transport and disappear with his target.

But Hamel hasn’t accounted for Hervé Mercure, a detective with a troubled past who becomes certain he can track down Hamel by studying clues in his past—and in the increasingly unsettling phone calls Hamel makes to his partner, Sylvie.

Both riveting and provocative, this daring thriller is an enthralling meditation on what it means to be human—and to battle the monster within and without.
Title:Seven DaysFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.8 inPublished:January 1, 2019Publisher:Simon & SchusterLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1982102616

ISBN - 13:9781982102616

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thrilling !! I purchased this novel on a whim not anticipating what a GREAT thriller it would be ! I could NOT put this book down. Some parts were gruesome, I would advise against reading if you are weak stomach!
Date published: 2019-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great thriller, but graphic I have to start this review with some trigger warnings. This book includes the rape and murder of a young girl and graphic torture of a man. There was one point that I almost had to put down the book because the scenes were bothering me, but I skipped a few pages and kept reading. This story was fascinating because it explored the morality behind killing. Bruno’s daughter was murdered, so he tortured her murderer with the intent to kill him. Is an eye for an eye applicable? Does it justify one death over another? Which one is the worse monster? The one who killed first, or the one who tortured a man for a week? These are difficult questions to think about. I was expecting a twist to happen at the end. There was a slight surprise, but more the most part it ended the way I expected. Other than some graphic scenes, this was a great crime thriller. I received a copy of this book from the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2019-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tense thriller Patrick Senécal is a bestselling French-Canadian author whose novel Seven Days, first published in the early 2000s, has been translated to English by Howard Scott and Phyllis Aronoff for publication Jan. 1/19. His writing style has been compared to Stephen King's. The book deals with a tragedy that happens to Dr. Bruno Hamel and his partner Sylvie: their young daughter Jasmine is brutally murdered. Dr. Hamel's overwhelming grief takes over and leads him to kidnapping the man responsible in order to avenge Jasmine's murder. The chase is now on with the police lead by Detective Mercure. The plot is difficult for the reader who must decide which man is the real criminal. It is a tense and often gory read but it is one heck of a ride. It is hoped that more of Patrick Senécal's novels will be translated. He is an author to be discovered by an English audience. Highly recommended. Thank you to Simon & Schuster and NetGalley for the e-ARC in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Riveting, provocative & thoroughly absorbing! Cautionary warning: This book has extremely graphic scenes of torture. SEVEN DAYS by PATRICK SENÉCAL is a gripping, dark, horrific, disturbing and fast-paced read that at times was even a little tough for me to read. I can usually handle quite a bit of explicit content by distancing myself from it so where the graphic scenes did make me pause a few times to catch my breath the storyline itself had me immediately hooked to fully immerse me in this tale. I do consider this book to be a crime thriller but it does have a high dose of horror added in though. I found that mix of genres to be highly entertaining and an exciting book to read. The intensity level and suspense of this novel increases immensely over the course of what happens over those seven days that totally frightens and intrigues the reader. I definitely needed to know the outcome and come to terms with Dr. Bruno Hamel’s attempt to seek his own retribution and justice for the horrific crime that was inflicted on his daughter. PATRICK SENÉCAL delivers quite the fascinating, intense, suspenseful and well-written read here with an extremely enthralling storyline. There is an aspect in this novel that haunts Dr. Hamel’s character that I am unable to elaborate on because of spoilers but I will say though that I thoroughly enjoyed the meaning and the message that it all entailed. This novel definitely invokes some strong opinions that will have you questioning some of the actions of the characters and the subject matter. I thought the author did a great job at allowing us to come to our own opinions of how we felt about the characters and the storyline. Norma’s Stats: Cover: Definitely a creepy and sinister feeling happening here with this cover which represents the storyline extremely well. Title: The title immediately piqued and grabbed my attention. Writing/Prose: I enjoyed the author’s writing style. Plot: Disturbing, provocative, emotive, thought-provoking, suspenseful, gripping, fast-paced, absorbing and extremely entertaining. Even though this book was a little tough to read it was an excellent one! Ending: I was thoroughly impressed and completely satisfied with the way this story ended. Overall: I thoroughly applaud the author with how the drama of this story all unfolded, making it one heck of a memorable and fantastic page-turner. Would highly recommend with caution though as some of the violence might be a little disturbing to some readers.
Date published: 2019-01-01

Read from the Book

Seven Days WHEN HE SAW THE MONSTER get out of the car, Bruno Hamel heard the growling of the dog for the first time. Thirty meters ahead of him, the police car had been stopped at the back entrance of the courthouse for a good minute already, and its occupants still had not made an appearance. Bruno had even been wondering whether they had noticed his presence, when the two police officers finally got out and opened the rear door and the monster appeared, wearing handcuffs. Bruno saw him in the flesh for the first time. With the exception of his combed hair and freshly cut beard, he looked just like the images on television. That was when Bruno heard the dog growling in the distance. He hardly paid attention to it. His eyes were riveted on the monster’s face. He had always been wary of stereotypes: he felt that the most twisted people often looked the most innocuous. But for once, the monster really did look like a louse, like a stereotypical Hollywood “bad guy,” and that bothered Bruno, though he couldn’t have said why. The police officers led the monster to the door, where some twenty people were expressing their hatred and disgust by shouting insults at the prisoner. The monster curled his lip in an arrogant smile, but his fear was perceptible behind the tough exterior. Soon the smile would be replaced by a terrified expression. At that thought, Bruno had to make an effort not to get out of the car and shoot the monster point-blank with the pistol tucked in his belt. He forced himself to stay calm and not to move. It would be a waste to express his hatred now. He had to save it for later. A bit later. Accompanied by the two police officers, the monster disappeared into the building, and the little group of demonstrators quieted down. Bruno heard the dog growling again. He looked around, expecting to see it approaching, but he didn’t see any animal. One of the two police officers came back out, walked through the now quiet group of demonstrators, and got into his car. The vehicle backed up and disappeared around the side of the courthouse, into the parking lot. Bruno, whose car was still running, followed it at a distance. The police car parked near a door, beside two other patrol cars. Ten seconds later, the officer entered the building. Bruno parked some twenty meters away and turned off his engine. “You didn’t tell me it was a cop car.” Bruno turned to the teenager sitting beside him. The kid shook his head with annoyance and repeated, “If I’d known, I’m not sure I would have said yes.” Bruno took out his wallet and counted out ten hundred-dollar bills. The boy, who hadn’t been expecting such a big bonus, stared greedily at the money. He must have been sixteen or seventeen years old; he had a shaven head and a pin in his lower lip and he was quite good-looking. He went to take the money, but Bruno stuffed it in his coat pocket. “When it’s done,” he said. The skinhead nodded and opened his door. “Not right away!” The kid closed the door nervously. Bruno looked at his watch: ten to ten. He lowered his sun visor, leaned his head back, and for the first time since the beginning of the nightmare, thought about the past ten days.

Editorial Reviews

“This is very well done. It owes nothing to Stephen King and, as far as I’m concerned, it is in nothing inferior to Stephen King.”