Endgame: The Calling: The Calling by James FreyEndgame: The Calling: The Calling by James Frey

Endgame: The Calling: The Calling

byJames Frey

Hardcover | October 7, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info

$4.00 online 
$24.99 list price
Earn 20 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

about

The New York Times bestseller and international multimedia phenomenon!

In each generation, for thousands of years, twelve Players have been ready. But they never thought Endgame would happen. Until now.

Omaha, Nebraska. Sarah Alopay stands at her graduation ceremony—class valedictorian, star athlete, a full life on the horizon. But when a meteor strikes the school, she survives. Because she is the Cahokian Player. Endgame has begun.

Juliaca, Peru. At the same moment, thousands of miles away, another meteor strikes. But Jago Tlaloc is safe. He has a secret, and his secret makes him brave. Strong. Certain. He is the Olmec Player. He's ready. Ready for Endgame.

Across the globe, twelve meteors slam into Earth. Cities burn. But Sarah and Jago and the ten others Players know the truth. The meteors carry a message. The Players have been summoned to The Calling. And now they must fight one another in order to survive. All but one will fail. But that one will save the world. This is Endgame.

James Frey is originally from Cleveland. All four of his books,A Million Little Pieces,My Friend Leonard,Bright Shiny Morning, andThe Final Testament of the Holy Bible, were international bestsellers.
Loading
Title:Endgame: The Calling: The CallingFormat:HardcoverDimensions:480 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.58 inPublished:October 7, 2014Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062332589

ISBN - 13:9780062332585

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Would recommend. I was very surprised with this book, I thought it would be a rip off of other books in this genre, but it definitely stands on its own. You want to keep reading to find out what is going to happen and you are often wrong with predictions of what is going to happen next.
Date published: 2018-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will Not Disappoint!! Endgame is such a great book that is filled with action and keeps you wanting more. It is an excellent dystopian novel for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent series. I would definitely reccommend this book and cannot wait for the sequel to be released!
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Am Number Four sort of meets The Hunger Games This book is intense. The plot immerses into the action right from chapter one. It's more action than dystopian driven--although some elements of a dystopian still exist. I've heard many comparisons of Endgame: The Calling to The Hunger Games. While there are some similar elements, they are not the same book. Endgame makes the concept and importance of The Hunger Games seem like child's play. Endgame takes some of the dystopian elements of The Hunger Games and combines it with the action-intense plot line of the Lorien Legacies (aka, the I Am Number Four series). This is perfect for fans of I Am Number Four, because the main author behind the pseudonym Pittacus Lore, is in fact James Frey, the main author of Endgame. Everything in this book makes so much sense: the font is the same in both books, the many character POVs, and the action-driven plot. The reason I didn't give this book a perfect five stars is because the plot drives on action alone. Most dystopians talk about the significance of the dystopian world and reveal their imperfections through character actions and discovery. Endgame doesn't begin to do this until the end--and it only hints at an imperfection to the system. Also, like in the I Am Number Four series, there are a LOT of character POVs. One of them does seem more important than the rest but it gets confusing. This book also has a real contest of solving the Endgame puzzle for real gold coins worth half a million dollars, if anyone is interested. There's annotations throughout the book that leads to a long list of endnotes that are real or fake clues towards the puzzle. It adds an element of mystery, but is also distracting to the reader. Now to wait for a release date for book two out of three.
Date published: 2015-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fan-fricken-tastic! Amazing book! but the ending is too much of a cliff-hanger and the second book isn't out yet! I'm dust dying inside awaiting the second book. Very good action book with a good pace, but I have to admit the point of view changing every chapter is slightly confusing. Non the less it is an awesome book and i would recommend it to anyone
Date published: 2015-03-20

Editorial Reviews

“The premise is engaging, in a Hunger Games-meets-National Treasure sort of way, and the diverse global cast is welcome.”