The Comet Seekers: A Novel by Helen SedgwickThe Comet Seekers: A Novel by Helen Sedgwick

The Comet Seekers: A Novel

byHelen Sedgwick

Paperback | October 11, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.55 online 
$22.99 list price save 10%
Earn 103 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A timeless love story and a magical, intoxicating debut for readers of The Miniaturist and The Time Traveler's Wife.

From a remote research base in Antarctica to witch burnings in Bayeux, The Comet Seekers is a romantic, mesmerizing love story about two strangers who find themselves connected by the passing of the great comets overhead and haunted by the ancestors who bind them together.

Roisin and François are strangers—or so they think—when they meet on the frozen ice sheets of Antarctica as Comet Giacobini fractures overhead. Both are compelled to explore the world but to do so both have left family behind. As we loop back through their lives, glimpsing each of them only when a comet is visible in the skies above, we see how their paths cross as they come closer and closer to this moment.

As the story moves back through the centuries to reveal the lives of their ancestors—from an accused witch to a young woman desperately embroidering Halley’s Comet onto the Bayeux Tapestry—it shows how strangers can be connected and ghosts can be real, and how the way we choose to see the world can be as tragic or as beautiful as the comets themselves.

Title:The Comet Seekers: A NovelFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:304 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.76 inShipping dimensions:9 × 6 × 0.76 inPublished:October 11, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1443449555

ISBN - 13:9781443449557

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful For me this was quite a page turner. It has poetic prose that describes snapshots of the characters' lives. I'd actually like to read this again, which I rarely do as there's so much to read out there.
Date published: 2017-02-04

Editorial Reviews

"Sedgwick is a highly evocative writer."