The German Girl: A Novel by Armando Lucas CorreaThe German Girl: A Novel by Armando Lucas Correa

The German Girl: A Novel

byArmando Lucas Correa

Paperback | October 18, 2016

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.09 online 
$22.00 list price save 8%
Earn 100 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A stunningly ambitious and beautiful debut novel, perfect for fans of Sarah’s Key and All the Light We Cannot See, the story of a twelve-year-old girl’s harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas asylum they had been promised is an illusion.

Before everything changed, Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now, in 1939, the streets of Berlin are draped with red, white, and black flags; her family’s fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places that once felt like home. Hannah and her best friend, Leo Martin, make a pact: come what may, they promise to have a future together.

A glimmer of hope appears in the form of the St. Louis, a transatlantic liner that can provide Jews safe passage to Cuba. After a frantic search to obtain visas, the Rosenthals and the Martins depart on the luxurious ship bound for Havana. Life on board the St. Louis is like a surreal holiday for these refugees, with masquerade balls, exquisite meals, and polite, respectful service. But soon ominous rumors from Cuba overshadow the celebratory atmosphere, and the ship that once was their salvation seems likely to become their death sentence. Hannah and Leo must make an impossible choice or risk losing everything that matters.

Seven decades later in New York City, on her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a package from Hannah, a great-aunt she has never met but who raised her deceased father. In an attempt to piece together her father’s mysterious past, Anna and her mother travel to Havana to meet this elderly relative. Hannah tells them of her astonishing journey on the St. Louis and, for the first time, reveals how she and Leo honored the solemn pact they had made. By connecting the pain of the past to the mysteries of the present, Hannah gives her young great-niece a sense of their shared histories, forever intertwining their lives, honoring those they loved and cruelly lost.

Details & Specs

Title:The German Girl: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8.25 × 5.31 × 0.9 inPublished:October 18, 2016Publisher:Atria BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1501158783

ISBN - 13:9781501158780

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of The German Girl: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Profound and moving …  This novel touched me personally, especially because it is written from the point of view of a girl, just like me, on the ship. This tragedy, ignored for so many years, contains a lesson the world must learn and never forget: compassion for refugees.”