Prostate Biopsy: Indications, Techniques, and Complications by J. Stephen JonesProstate Biopsy: Indications, Techniques, and Complications by J. Stephen Jones

Prostate Biopsy: Indications, Techniques, and Complications

EditorJ. Stephen Jones

Paperback | November 19, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info

$297.22 online 
$336.95 list price save 11%
Earn 1486 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Prostate biopsy is now one of the most common procedures performed by urologists. This book presents all topics related to the diagnosis of prostate cancer, including risk factor assessment, indications for biopsy, techniques, complications, and emerging technologies in the science. It also covers such important topics in prostate biopsy as PSA, pain prevention, prediction models, and biopsy techniques. The book's contributors include those who have defined the science of prostate cancer diagnosis and continue to improve upon it. These internationally acclaimed specialists provide their expert opinions on all topics related to prostate cancer diagnosis.
Steven Jones, MD, is the Vice Chairman of hte Glickman Urological Institute at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation, one of the foremost departments of urology in the world.  He is an expert in many aspects of urological science and medicine and has assembled the greatest international team to address the questions surrounding prostate biop...
The Art Of Horror Movies: An Illustrated History
The Art Of Horror Movies: An Illustrated History

by Stephen Jones

$46.28$52.00

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

August Snow
August Snow

by Stephen Mack Jones

$28.70$31.95

In stock online

Available in stores

Mongrels: A Novel
Mongrels: A Novel

by Stephen Graham Jones

$16.99$18.50

In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author
Title:Prostate Biopsy: Indications, Techniques, and ComplicationsFormat:PaperbackDimensions:344 pages, 9.25 × 6.1 × 0 inPublished:November 19, 2010Publisher:Humana PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1617377805

ISBN - 13:9781617377808

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Prostate Biopsy: Indications, Techniques, and Complications

Reviews

Table of Contents

1) Defining the Problem 2) WHAT EVERY PATIENT SHOULD KNOW ABOUT PROSTATE CANCER BEFORE HE SUBMITS TO BIOPSY OF HIS PROSTATEAuthors: Thomas A. Stamey, MD*, Rosalie Nolley, MD and Dorothea Torti, MD - Stanford University Medical Center - S287, 300 Pasteur Drive, Stanford CA 94305 - tstamey@stanford.edu and tinyn@stanford.edu3) PSA AND PROSTATE CANCER SCREENINGAuthors: Stacy Loeb, MD - Department of Urology, Georgetown University, 3800 Reservoir Rd, 4th floor PHC bldg., Washington DC 20007Misop Han, MD and William J. Catalona, MD* - Department of Urology, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University, 675 N. St. Clair Suite 20-15, Chicago IL 60611 - wcatalona@nmff.org, wcataona@nmff.org, and stacyloeb@gmail.com4) THE ROLE OF COMPLEXED PSA (cPSA) IN PROSTATE CANCER SCREENINGAuthors: Matthew E. Nielsen, MD* and Alan W. Partin, MD, PhD* - Brady Urological Institute, John Hopkins University School of Medicine, Marburg 143, 600 N Wolfe Street, Baltimore MD 21287 - apartin@jhmi.edu and nielsen@jhmi.edu5) NEWLY RECOGNIZED FORMS OF PSA AND EMERGING MOLECULAR MARKERSAuthors: Eduardo I. Canto, MD and Kevin M. Slawin, MD* - Antilles Research Institute, San Juan, PR and Baylor Prostate Center, Scott Department of Urology, Baylor College of Medicine - 6560 Fannin Street Suite 2100, Houston TX 77030 - kslawin@bcm.tmc.edu and ecanto@bcm.tmc.edu6) THE ROLE OF PSA VELOCITY IN THE DIAGNOSIS AND MANAGEMENT OF PROSTATE CANCERAuthor: H. Ballentine Carter, MD* - James Buchanan Brady Urological Institute, John Hopkins School of Medicine, 600 N. Wolfe St., Baltimore MD 21287 - hcarter@jhmi.edu7) PROSTATE CANCER SCREENING: NAVIGATING THE CONTROVERSYAuthors: Timothy C. Brand, MD* and Ian M. Thompson, MD - Department of Urology, University of Texas Health Science Center, Mail Code 7845, 7703 Floyd Curl Drive, San Antonio TX 78229 - thompsoni@uthscsa.edu, thompsoni@uthscsa.edu and brandt2@uthscsa.eduChapter Titles/Authors 4/27/2007Page 2 of 3 8) PROSTATE CANCER NOMOGRAMS AND HOW THEY MEASURE UP TO NEURAL NETWORKS Authors: Pierre I. Karakiewicz, MD - Cancer Prognostics and Health Outcomes Unit, University of Montreal Health Center, Montreal Quebec, Canada - and Michael W. Kattan, PhD* - Department of Quantitative Health Sciences, Cleveland Clinic, 9500 Euclid Avenue Wb-4, Cleveland OH 44195 - kattanm@ccf.org and pierre.karakiewicz@montreal.ca9) PREPARATION FOR PROSTATE BIOPSYAuthors: Alan M. Nieder, MD and Mark S. Soloway, MD* - Department of Urology, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, PO Box 016960 (M814), Miami FL 33101 - msoloway@med.miami.edu and anieder@med.miami.edu10) PRINCIPLES OF PROSTATE ULTRASOUNDAuthor: Martha K. Terris, MD - Medical College of Georgia, 1120 15th Street BA-8414, Augusta GA 30912 - mterris@mcg.edu11) MINIMIZING PAIN AND OPTIMIZING PATIENT EXPERIENCE DURING PROSTATE BIOPSYAuthor: J. Stephen Jones, MD, FACS* - Glickman Urological and Kidney Institute, Cleveland Clinic, 9500 Euclid Avenue A100, Cleveland OH 44195 - joness7@ccf.org12) PROSTATE BIOPSY TECHNIQUESAuthor: Katsuto Shinohara, MD* - Department of Urology and Mt. Zion, / Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of California San Francisco, 1600 Divisadero Street A634, San Francisco CA 94143 - kshinohara@urol.ucsf.edu13) BIOPSY STRATEGIES - HOW MANY AND WHERE?Author: Joseph C. Presti, Jr., MD* - Stanford University School of Medicine, 875 Blake Wilbur Drive Rm 2217, Stanford Cancer Center, Stanford CA 94305 - jpresti@stanford.edu14) TRANSPERINEAL PROSTATE BIOPSYAuthors: Paolo Emiliozzi, MD* and Vito Pansadoro, MD - San Giovanni Hospital and Vincenzo Pansadoro Foundation, Rome Italy - paoloemiliozzi@hotmail.com and vitopansadoro@mcliak.it Chapter Titles/Authors 4/27/2007Page 3 of 3 15) REPEAT PROSTATE BIOPIES AND THE VIENNA NOMOGRAMSAuthors: Bob Djavan, MD, PhD* and Sibylle Marihart, MD - Department of Urology, University of Vienna, Wahringer Gurtel 18-20, 1090 Vienna Austria - bdjavan@hotmail.com16) SATURATION BIOPSY FOR DETCTION AND CHARACTERIZATION OF PROSTATE CANCERAuthor: J. Stephen Jones, MD, FACS* - Glickman Urological and Kidney Institute, Cleveland Clinic, 9500 Euclid Avenue A100, Cleveland OH 44195 - joness7@ccf.org17) PATHOLOGICAL IMPLICATIONS OF PROSTATE BIOPSYAuthors: Ming Zhou, MD, PhD and Cristina Magi-Galluzzi, MD, PhD* - Departments of Anatomic Pathology, Urology and Cancer Biology, Cleveland Clinic, 9500 Eucild Avenue, Cleveland OH 44195 - zhoum@ccf.org and magic@ccf.org18) COMPLICATIONS OF TRANSRECTAL ULTRASOUND GUIDED PROSTAT BIOPSYAuthors: Sam S. Chang, MD and Michael S. Cookson, MD* - Department of Urologic Surgery, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville TN 37232 - michael.cookson@vanderbilt.edu and sam.chang@vanderbilt.edu19) MANAGEMENT AND CONTROVERSIES OF HGPIN AND ASAP ON PROSTATE BIOPSYAuthors: Alon Z. Weizer, MD, Scott M. Gilbert, MD, and David P. Wood, Jr., MD* - Department of Urology, and Rajal B. Shah, MD - Department of Urology and Pathology - University of Michigan, Ann Arbor MI 48109 - davwood@med.umich.edu, aweizer@med.umich.edu and rajshah@med.umich.edu 20) FUTURE DIRECTIONS IN PROSTATE CANCER DIAGNOSISAuthors: Nicholas J. Fitzsimons, MD, Leon L. Sun, MD and Judd W. Moul, MD* - Division of Urologic Surgery and Duke Prostate Center, Duke University Medical Center, Durham NC 27710 and Lionel L. Banez - Center for Prostate Disease Research, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, Rockville MD - judd.moul@duke.edu, nicholas.fitzsimons@duke.edu, lbanez@cpdr.org and leon.sun@duke.edu* Corresponding author

Editorial Reviews

From the reviews:"20 chapters in this book read as independent articles that delve into many of the most recent discoveries and controversies surrounding prostate cancer diagnosis. . It presents a good overview of different variations on the PSA blood test and describes the key elements of prostate biopsy. This is a valuable resource for scientists/clinicians who are dedicated to working in the area of prostate cancer diagnosis. . The chapters provide excellent discussions of their topics and the book is an excellent resource for readers . ." (Ethan J Halpern, Doody's Review Service, August, 2008)