Rabbit Plants the Forest by Deborah L. DuvallRabbit Plants the Forest by Deborah L. Duvall

Rabbit Plants the Forest

byDeborah L. DuvallIllustratorMurv Jacob

Hardcover | April 16, 2006

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 115 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Rabbit Plants the Forest is an adventure story based on characters from Cherokee tradition, including Ji-Stu (Rabbit) and his friends Otter, Sa-lo-li (Squirrel), and the mysterious Wampus Cat.

Ji-Stu, the Messenger for all the animals, is asked by Otter to tell Sa-lo-li it is a good day to plant. Much to his delight, Ji-Stu is invited to help Sa-lo-li plant the hickory nuts, walnuts, pecans, and acorns that will become new trees, keeping the forest thick and beautiful. Ji-Stu and Sa-lo-li only laugh when the elderly squirrel White Oak warns them to watch out for Wampus Cat. Before the planting is done, their laughter turns to fright as they narrowly escape with their lives!

Based on the ancient Cherokee teaching that squirrels keep the woods alive and should not be hunted, Rabbit Plants the Forest combines Jacob's color paintings and a blending of Cherokee mythology with scientific facts about animals and their places in our world.

Deborah L. Duvall is an author of books and short stories on Cherokee history and tradition, a singer-songwriter, and a professional in financial management. She was born and continues to live in Tahlequah, Oklahoma, capital of the Cherokee Nation. Murv Jacob, a descendant of Kentucky Cherokees, is an internationally known artist...
Title:Rabbit Plants the ForestFormat:HardcoverDimensions:32 pages, 10.25 × 8.76 × 0.43 inPublished:April 16, 2006Publisher:University Of New Mexico PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0826336914

ISBN - 13:9780826336910

Appropriate for ages: 3 - 5


Editorial Reviews

"Exquisite art, traditional wisdom, and a fast-moving story combine in a virtually unprecedented way throughout this entire series. This book is a must."