Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution by Ji-Li Jiang

Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution

byJi-Li Jiang

Paperback | July 29, 2004

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.92 online 
$9.99
Earn 50 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Publishers Weekly Best Book * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * ALA Notable Children's Book * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice

In the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl’s courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century.

It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution—and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart. Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life.

Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages. This edition includes a detailed glossary and pronunciation guide.

About The Author

Ji-li Jiang was born in Shanghai, China, in 1954. She graduated from Shanghai Teachers' College and Shanghai University and was a science teacher before she came to the United States in 1984. After her graduation from the University of Hawaii, Ms. Jiang worked as an operations analyst for a hotel chain in Hawaii,then as budget director...
Red Kite, Blue Kite
Red Kite, Blue Kite

by Ji-li Jiang

$11.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Lotus And Feather
Lotus And Feather

by Ji-Li Jiang

$17.90$18.99

In stock online

Available in stores

Details & Specs

Title:Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural RevolutionFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8.75 × 6.35 × 0.63 inPublished:July 29, 2004Publisher:HarperCollins

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0064462080

ISBN - 13:9780064462082

Appropriate for ages: 10 - 14

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"Ji-li's deeply moving story should be on the shelf of every person's library. He4r courage in the face of adversity and her steadfast loyalty and love for her family are truly inspirational for young and old alike."-- Nien Chang, author of "A Life and Death in Shanghai""Engrossing...Transcends politics and becomes the story of one little girl trying to survive."-- "ALA Booklist""A page-turner. Excellent."-- "School Library Journal"