Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution by Ji-Li JiangRed Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution by Ji-Li Jiang

Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution

byJi-Li Jiang

Paperback | July 29, 2004

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.99

Earn 50 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Publishers Weekly Best Book * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * ALA Notable Children's Book * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice

In the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl’s courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century.

It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution—and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart. Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life.

Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages. This edition includes a detailed glossary and pronunciation guide.

Ji-li Jiang was born in Shanghai, China, in 1954. She graduated from Shanghai Teachers' College and Shanghai University and was a science teacher before she came to the United States in 1984. After her graduation from the University of Hawaii, Ms. Jiang worked as an operations analyst for a hotel chain in Hawaii,then as budget director...
Lotus And Feather
Lotus And Feather

by Ji-Li Jiang

$17.91$18.99

In stock online

Available in stores

Red Kite, Blue Kite
Red Kite, Blue Kite

by Ji-Li Jiang

$16.90$18.99

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Available in stores

Title:Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural RevolutionFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8.75 × 6.35 × 0.63 inPublished:July 29, 2004Publisher:HarperCollins

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0064462080

ISBN - 13:9780064462082

Appropriate for ages: 10 - 14

Customer Reviews of Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Book The book "Red Scarf Girl" is a great book, based on a true story of Ji-Li. It’s about the hardships and problems a girl named Ji Li has to go through along with her family, because of the Cultural Revolution. Although at first I thought this book be a bit boring it had come to surprise me. I really could understand and relate. This book is about courage and about family. It's about Cultural Revolution that is happening in the twenty-first century and how people are still thinking in old ways. I learned how you could never judge a book by its cover, and once I started I couldn't stop. This book had many lessons you could learn from. The revolution affected many and I actually felt sad. This book is non- fiction and true. The book “Red Scarf Girl" is for mature children or teens. I truly enjoyed reading this book and imaging the story throughout. At some parts the story was very astonishing and hard to believe. But at the end, I was actually happy to choose this book. I would recommend it to an older audience because you can learn a lot from it. Overall it was a great book.
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome book The book "Red Scarf Girl" is a great book, based on a true story of Ji-Li. It’s about the hardships and problems a girl named Ji Li has to go through along with her family, because of the Cultural Revolution. Although at first I thought this book be a bit boring it had come to surprise me. I really could understand and relate. This book is about courage and about family. It's about Cultural Revolution that is happening in the twenty-first century and how people are still thinking in old ways. I learned how you could never judge a book by its cover, and once I started I couldn't stop. This book had many lessons you could learn from. The revolution affected many and I actually felt sad. This book is non- fiction and true. The book “Red Scarf Girl" is for mature children or teens. I truly enjoyed reading this book and imaging the story throughout. At some parts the story was very astonishing and hard to believe. But at the end, I was actually happy to choose this book. I would recommend it to an older audience because you can learn a lot from it. Overall it was a great book.
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST BOOK EVER!!! EVERYONE READ THIS BOOK! ITS A GREAT STORY!!! VERY TOUCHING!!! ITS WONDERFUL!!! Great for teaching younger readers how to deal with family and school problems!!!
Date published: 2004-01-10

Editorial Reviews

"Ji-li's deeply moving story should be on the shelf of every person's library. He4r courage in the face of adversity and her steadfast loyalty and love for her family are truly inspirational for young and old alike."-- Nien Chang, author of "A Life and Death in Shanghai""Engrossing...Transcends politics and becomes the story of one little girl trying to survive."-- "ALA Booklist""A page-turner. Excellent."-- "School Library Journal"