Revenge and the Wild by Michelle ModestoRevenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto

Revenge and the Wild

byMichelle Modesto

Hardcover | February 2, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.61 online 
$21.99 list price save 24%
Earn 83 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

True Grit meets True Blood in this delightfully dark and fantastical Western perfect for fans of Gail Carriger, Cassandra Clare, and Holly Black. This thrilling novel is a remarkable tale of danger and discovery, from debut author Michelle Modesto.

The two-bit town of Rogue City is a lawless place, full of dark magic and saloon brawls, monsters and six-shooters. But it’s just perfect for seventeen-year-old Westie, the notorious adopted daughter of local inventor Nigel Butler.

Westie was only a child when she lost her arm and her family to cannibals on the wagon trail. Seven years later, Westie may seem fearsome with her foul-mouthed tough exterior and the powerful mechanical arm built for her by Nigel, but the memory of her past still haunts her. She’s determined to make the killers pay for their crimes—and there’s nothing to stop her except her own reckless ways.

But Westie’s search ceases when a wealthy family comes to town looking to invest in Nigel’s latest invention, a machine that can harvest magic from gold—which Rogue City desperately needs as the magic wards that surround the city start to fail. There’s only one problem: the investors look exactly like the family who murdered Westie’s kin. With the help of Nigel’s handsome but scarred young assistant, Alistair, Westie sets out to prove their guilt. But if she’s not careful, her desire for revenge could cost her the family she has now.

Title:Revenge and the WildFormat:HardcoverDimensions:384 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.21 inPublished:February 2, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062366157

ISBN - 13:9780062366153

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Magical Realism & Western Gunslingers You wouldn't think that a vampire running a blood brothel would belong in a story of a gunslinger chasing revenge, or that the gunslinger's family being eaten by cannibals would be the basis for a shoot-first-ask-questions-later kind of Wild West tale. But it is, and it works. Michelle Modesto has introduced classic Western to magical realism, and it combines into a fun, engaging, bloody thrilling story of one girl's thirst for vengeance and a town's fatal mistake in welcoming cannibals into their midst. Re-read; still love it.
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Engaging Debut Is Reminiscent Of "The Quick And The Dead" The first time I read this book, sometime last fall, I really wasn't sure what to make of it. There were so many creatures and characters - a hodgepodge of genres that really didn't seem to go together. It left me feeling confused, unsure of how I felt about what I'd just read. Now, reading this book for the second time, I can honestly say I definitely enjoyed it. It combines Wild West gunslingers and shoot-outs with supernatural themes; a gun-toting cowboy enjoying a drink or a game of cards in the saloon can be joined at any moment by a leprechaun or werewolf. Vampires run a blood brothel, cannibals run wild throughout the States, and the Undying (zombies) are everywhere. Ogres and trolls and magic-wielding Natives - oh, my. It's difficult to describe this book without it sounding like a crazy mash-up (which, when you think about it, is pretty darn close) but honestly, the best way to recommend this book is to pass it on to someone and instruct them to read it for themselves. Enjoy reading about vampires in a realistic world setting? Read the book. Have a penchant for magical creatures? Definitely read it. Your favorite movie is "The Quick And The Dead"? You'll eat this for breakfast and look for more. Don't like any of the certain tropes or genres listed above? Read it anyway. It might surprise you. It certainly surprised me.
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Couldn't finish this book 2.5** Maybe I didn't give this book enough of a chance but I couldn't bring myself to finish it. I was hoping to like this book, but I didn't like it at all. It was written in third person which bothered me and the way thing were described in the book made no sense no matter how many times you read it. It couldn't keep my attention at all and half of the time I had no idea what was happening
Date published: 2017-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Solid debut Westie lives in Rogue City, a place full of magical creatures. and humans living together. She lost her arm as a child after her family was attacked by cannibals on the wagon trail and adopted by infamous inventor Nigel Butler as she was the only survivor. Now, nine years later, she’s determined to find the people who slaughtered her family and make them pay. When new investors, a wealthy family, come to Rogue City to possibly finance Nigel’s newest invention, an invention that could save the city as the magic that has kept them save for so long is depleting, it should be a joyous occasion. The problem: these investors look exactly like the family that killed Westie’s family. Westie sets out to prove them guilty with the help of Nigel’s assistant Alistair, but she has to watch her step or risk losing the people she now calls family. I wasn’t quite sure what this book would be like going into it. It sounded, at first, like a paranormal western, but the more I read, there were also some steampunk elements thrown in and it ended up feeling a lot less western than I expected. There were a few times when it felt like the plot was trying to be too many things at once and a lot of things got touched upon but never really felt completed. It was slow to begin with but once Westie became determined to investigate, the action picked up. Westie was a great character. I wanted to scream at her to have come sense just as much as I wanted to be her friend. She was stubborn and could be infuriatingly narrow-sighted but she also cared about her friends and I could definitely understand her wanting revenge against the people who’d stolen her whole family away from her. She was definitely an action now, think later type of girl, another thing that made me want to scream at her. She had to learn to let other people in and to trust them, that they could help her instead of holding her back. She was entertaining and her loud-mouthed comments had me laughing at times then she’d turn around and make me tear up as she lost herself to alcohol to numb herself. My main complaint of the book would be that all the secondary characters felt underdeveloped. There were many, and there were quite a few that interacted a lot with Westie and there was a lot of room to give them more depth, but it never happened. The character that got the most depth and attention outside Westie was Alistair, one of the love interests and a boy who’d grown up with Westie after also being adopted by Nigel. I liked his character and was glad he got some development but it felt like all the other characters barely skimmed the surface of who they were. The plot started slowly and kept a pretty steady pace for the first half of the book, baring a few scenes here and there that had some action. It was all about setting up the world, Rogue City, and the stakes at Westie was facing trying to prove such a wealthy family of cannibalism. There was a lot of information to absorb: all the different magical creatures, the magic used to sustain Rogue City, the Undying and how they became that way, Westie’s backstory. Once Westie started to put her mind on moving on so she could be clear-headed enough to get the Fairchilds, the action started to pick up. There were a lot of twists and turns in the last quarter of the book. I was able to figure out one of the big ones but one caught me totally off-guard. I love when plot twists are able to surprise me. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2016-02-13

Editorial Reviews

“Impossible to put down.”