Riddle-master by Patricia A. MckillipRiddle-master by Patricia A. Mckillip


byPatricia A. Mckillip

Paperback | February 10, 1999

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 110 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


For over twenty years, Patricia A. McKillip has captured the hearts and imaginations of thousands of readers. And although her renowned Riddle-Master trilogy--The Riddle-Master of Hed, Heir of Sea and Fire, and Harpist in the Wind--has been long out of print, it is considered her most enduring and beloved work. Now it is collected in one volume for the first time--the epic journeys of a young prince in a strange land, where wizards have long since vanished...but where magic is waiting to be reborn.
Patricia A. McKillip is a winner of the World Fantasy Award, and the author of many fantasy novels, including The Riddlemaster of Hed trilogy, Stepping from the Shadows, and The Cygnet and the Firebird. She lives in Oregon.
Title:Riddle-masterFormat:PaperbackDimensions:592 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.3 inPublished:February 10, 1999Publisher:Penguin Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0441005969

ISBN - 13:9780441005963

Appropriate for ages: 18 - 18

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Complete Epic Here is a great chance to read a completed trilogy, instead of waiting years for an author to finish. Re-read this after several decades and was pleased to find the characters are as charming as I remember. The magical world is unique and fantasy fans will love this!
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing You simply can't put this book down. And you practically walk with Morgon through his floundering passage. It is extremely well written. To new readers of McKillip, beware when she slips into a mental zone where edges of dream and reality blurr. But that is part of her charm.
Date published: 2009-08-06

From Our Editors

Patricia A. McKillip’s Riddle-Master trilogy is back in print and available in a one-volume collector’s edition. The three books – The Riddle-Master of Hed, Heir of Sea and Fire and Harpist in the Wind – tell the magical story of Morgon, the Prince of Hed. Born with the sign of stars imprinted on his forehead, Morgon is consecrated – but for what? Longing only to rule his land, Morgon knows that he must obey his destiny to wander amidst the magical and mysterious beings ruled by the omnipotent High One.