Rise of the River Man: Conguise Chronicles, #1 by L. S. O'Dea

Rise of the River Man: Conguise Chronicles, #1

byL. S. O'Dea

Kobo ebook | January 22, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


Guards were bred to serve the Almightys...

Too strong to be purchased, too tainted by a lost fight, Mutter waits for execution. Death is the only way out of this cell, unless another Almighty purchases him. And one does – as long as Mutter swears to obey.

Guards always obey.

There’s food and a soft bed. And screams from other cages, smells like nothing he’s known. They’re giving him shots, and letting him walk around the compound but nothing moves as it’s supposed to.

They trust him. He’s bred to follow their rules. But if he doesn’t escape, he’ll become food for one of those things in the other cages. Or worse... turn into one of them.

"A fascinating glimpse into the world of the Lake of Sins." J. Urbanczyk

Interview with the Author

Q. – So, why should someone read the Conguise Chronicles series?

Well, because it’s great (smiles).  No, seriously.  If you’re looking for your typical horror novel with classic vampires, witches, demons or werewolves then you should look somewhere else.  This story turns your standard horror thrillers upside down.  You'll root for the monster, not the humans.

The characters in the series are human-animal hybrids.  They’ve been captured and are being genetically modified even more by a genius who hasn't quite figured out how to control his experiments or his monsters.  

Conguise Chronicles takes place in the world of the Lake of Sins—a world which is segregated by class and the descendants of humans rule supreme.  Each story in this series explores the life of one genetic mutation who you meet in the Lake of Sins series.  

The books are fast paced with adventure, danger and madness around every corner.  I guarantee by the end, you’ll be rooting for the monster and you'll never read another horror story without thinking about things from the creature's perspective.

All-in-all, it’s a unique and exciting read and you should give it a try.  I think you’ll love it.

Q. – Who should read the Conguise Chronicles series?

The audience for this series is broad. I have fans (male and female) aged ten through eighty.  Anyone who likes gory thrillers that are dark, a little disturbing and packed with action will enjoy these books.  If you like Relic, Frankenstein and The Island of Dr. Moreau, then you’ll enjoy these tales.

However, a word of caution is in order.  These books are not for the squeamish.  Some scenes are bloody and violent, but the interactions between the characters are funny, poignant and loving.  Still, I wouldn’t recommend these books to anyone under thirteen without the parents reading the books first.

If you enjoy this book, you should check out the parent series (Lake of Sins).

The Lake of Sins Series should be read in the following order:
Lake of Sins: Escape (book 1)
Lake of Sins: Secrets In Blood (book 2)
Lake of Sins: Hangman’s Army (book 3)
Lake of Sins: Betrayed (book 4)

Lake of Sins: Whispers From The Past (book 5)

I don’t have the titles for the others in the series yet.

Title:Rise of the River Man: Conguise Chronicles, #1Format:Kobo ebookPublished:January 22, 2017Publisher:L. S. O'DeaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1942706049

ISBN - 13:9781942706045