River Of Destiny by Barbara ErskineRiver Of Destiny by Barbara Erskine

River Of Destiny

byBarbara Erskine

Paperback | March 11, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.99

Earn 80 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Available in stores

about

From the bestselling author of Time's Legacy and Lady of Hay comes a thrilling new novel, River of Destiny, an epic story that spans Anglo Saxon Britain, Victorian Suffolk and the present day.Perfect for fans of Kate Mosse's Labyrinth.On the banks of the River Deben in Suffolk are ancient barns dating back to Anglo Saxon times - within these walls lie secrets that have been buried for centuries.New arrivals Zoe and Ken move into one of the converted barns, ready to start a life away from the hustle and bustle of the city. To the outside world they seem happy, but they are growing further apart by the day. Meanwhile the strange presence Zoe feels within their home and the ghostly shapes she sees through the cloying mists on the river are getting harder to ignore.Nearby, farmers are ploughing the land beside the river and human bones are found. Are they linked to the Victorian tragedy the locals whisper about? The secret of the grassy mound has remained untouched through history, but now that it's been disturbed, will there be devastating consequences?
A historian by training, Barbara Erskine is the author of thirteen bestselling novels that demonstrate her interest in both history and the supernatural, plus three collections of short stories. Her books have appeared in at least twenty-six languages. Her first novel, Lady of Hay, has sold over three million copies worldwide. She live...
Loading
Title:River Of DestinyFormat:PaperbackDimensions:496 pages, 7.8 × 5.08 × 0.05 inPublished:March 11, 2013Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0007302320

ISBN - 13:9780007302321

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing! This book has three time lines – AD 865; AD 1855; and Present day. It was difficult to find real interest in any of the story lines with some only a page and half before jumping into another era. The characters were uninteresting without much depth and eventually I skimmed to the end. Not up to par with Ms. Erskine’s other books which I enjoyed eg. Time’s Legacy or Lady of Hay – both highly recommended
Date published: 2015-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A real page -turner. A good story of ghostly goings on set in Suffolk in the present, interweaved with two sub-stories of what has happened at the same place in ancient and more recent history to cause the mysterious events.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from River of destiny Good read as all her books are
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from River of Destiny Didn't feel the sub stories linked well.I thought the ending was a bit of an anti climax.
Date published: 2014-06-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from River of Destiny Typical Barbara Erskine story line set in a picturesque location. Very atmospheric descriptions of the River which make you believe that the characters could see ghostly long ships . Would have enjoyed the book more if the historical content had been greater but a pleasant way to escape for a few hours without having to tax the grey matter to much.
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from River of destiny Love her writinng this was a good story
Date published: 2013-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard to put down Moving through three time periods, this story resonates through the ages with people that come alive in each era. As each story progresses mysteries are revealed about the Suffolk area and the history that shaped it. Meanwhile a ghost Viking ship glides gloomily through the mist on the river, propelling fear before it.
Date published: 2013-06-09

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Time's Legacy:'Marvellous escapist stuff' Woman and HomePraise for Warrior's Princess'A riveting timeslip novel' Fanny Blake'Her forte is mood, atmosphere and the toe-curling frisson' Elizabeth Buchan, Sunday Times'Stephen King meets Ruth Rendell' Frank Delaney'Barbara Erskine's storytelling talent is undeniable' The Times