Rooms: A Novel by Lauren OliverRooms: A Novel by Lauren Oliver

Rooms: A Novel

byLauren Oliver

Hardcover | September 23, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info

$23.95 online 
$31.99 list price save 25%
Earn 120 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways.

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.

Lauren Oliver is the author of the YA bestselling novelsBefore I Fall, Panic,andVanishing Girlsand the Delirium trilogy:Delirium, Pandemonium,andRequiem, which have been translated into more than thirty languages and areNew York Timesand international bestselling novels. She is also the author of three novels for middle grade readers:T...
Loading
Title:Rooms: A NovelFormat:HardcoverDimensions:320 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.05 inPublished:September 23, 2014Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062223194

ISBN - 13:9780062223197

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, but I got bored.. At first, I was hesitant about reading this only because it was about ghosts. But it ended up not being scary like a horror novel. Told in multiple point of views from the spirits to the living people, Rooms is a novel full of heartache and all of the terrible realities of life. The story unravels bit by bit and when it does the picture gets clearer as to what truly happened between all the people in the house. The writing is very beautiful, and also very sad. The tone is not Lauren's usual way and I like that it was different than her young adult novels. The added mystery as to how the spirits got there is also an fascinating piece to the entire plot. I found myself wanting to know how they died since it wasn't revealed until the very end. What I liked the best was the characters stories and their progress and how they are weaved together. Other than the rich character development, and secrets, I was a tad bit bored. I wanted much more than just how they died and how they even got there. I needed something to keep me reading the pages. Overall, make sure to grab this if you're looking for a more mature adult read from Lauren Oliver.
Date published: 2014-11-09

Editorial Reviews

“Oliver’s first adult novel is packed with complex, flawed characters, and she manages to turn the ghosts’ observations into a story about how people are haunted by memories. It’s like a Wes Anderson movie in book form, with ghosts.”