Rooms: A Novel by Lauren Oliver

Rooms: A Novel

byLauren Oliver

Paperback | September 15, 2015

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.61 online 
$18.50
Earn 73 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways.

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.

About The Author

Lauren Oliver is the author of the YA bestselling novelsBefore I Fall, Panic,andVanishing Girlsand the Delirium trilogy:Delirium, Pandemonium,andRequiem, which have been translated into more than thirty languages and areNew York Timesand international bestselling novels. She is also the author of three novels for middle grade readers:T...
Before I Fall Movie Tie-in Edition
Before I Fall Movie Tie-in Edition

by Lauren Oliver

$12.31$13.50

In stock online

Available in stores

Replica
Replica

by Lauren Oliver

$14.59$15.99

In stock online

Available in stores

Delirium
Delirium

by Lauren Oliver

$11.48$12.50

In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:Rooms: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.72 inPublished:September 15, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062223208

ISBN - 13:9780062223203

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Rooms: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Oliver’s first adult novel is packed with complex, flawed characters, and she manages to turn the ghosts’ observations into a story about how people are haunted by memories. It’s like a Wes Anderson movie in book form, with ghosts.”