Ruin: Star Wars Legends (The New Jedi Order: Dark Tide, Book II) by Michael A. Stackpole

Ruin: Star Wars Legends (The New Jedi Order: Dark Tide, Book II)

byMichael A. Stackpole

Kobo ebook | June 3, 2003

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


The alien Yuuzhan Vong have launched an attack on the worlds of the Outer Rim.  They are merciless, without regard for life - and they stand utterly outside the Force.  Their ever-changing tactics stump the New Republic military.  Even the Jedi, once the greatest guardians of peace in the galaxy, are rendered helpless by this impervious foe - and their solidarity has begun to unravel.

While Luke struggles to keep the Jedi together, Knights Jacen Solo and Corran Horn set off on a reconnaissance mission to the planet Garqi, an occupied world.  There, at last, they uncover a secret that might be used to undermine the enemy - if only they can stay alive long enough to use it!

Features a bonus section following the novel that includes a primer on the Star Wars expanded universe, and over half a dozen excerpts from some of the most popular Star Wars books of the last thirty years!

Title:Ruin: Star Wars Legends (The New Jedi Order: Dark Tide, Book II)Format:Kobo ebookPublished:June 3, 2003Publisher:Random House Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0345467426

ISBN - 13:9780345467423

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but too similar to previous entries A solid read, but Stackpole has done better. This is an entertaining book, but the finale is too similar to the previous two books and that takes away from it's impact. The NJO suffers from this until the first "Edge of Victory" book. Great Corran Horn scenes in this book and it's nice to see that our heroes are not invincible and that they cannot always save the galaxy.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strenght in Faith After Dark Tide I: Onslaught's slow movement, the fast pace and action-packed Dark Tide II: Ruin is a treasure. Having liked the X-Wing series, I knew that I would like the Dark Tide Duology and Mr. Stackpole doesn't hold back in this one. Merciless and bend on removing the mechanical taint upon the galaxy, the alien invaders known as the Yuuzhan Vong strike multiple planets; each time, nearly wiping out the entire populace. But when Senator Elegos A'Kla submits himself to the Yuuzhan Vong leader, Shedao Shai, in order to learn their ways, is peace too much to hope for? It finally boils down to one planet, one last chance to stop these alien invaders. I preferred Ruin over Stackpole's previous novel, Onslaught, and it's no secret why. This book was fast paced and, political views aside, a fast read as well. I loved the portrayal of relationships; with Corran and Jacen, Jania and Anni, Kre'Fey and Palleon and Ganner and Leia. How we begin to notice that the people we all know and love, can grow up and mature or change into remarkable characters. Michael A. Stackpole has captured me in a web of pure truth - loyalty and courage never fade.
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from .....WOW!!!! What can I say, but WOW! This book, the third in a (hopefully) long chain of New Jedi Order books, was OUTSTANDING. The book dives deep into the personalities of some of the main characters of the book. This is good because the course of the book has slowly steered the focus from the traditional characters, Leia, Han, Luke, etc, to Jaina, Jacen, Anakin, and Corran of the new Jedi. However, the author still includes the old characters on a regular basis. This book has also indroduced a new threat. Instead of the old Rebels vs. Empire story, the Yuuzan Vong are featured in this novel. I can't give away the ending , so I'll simply day, READ THIS BOOK!!!!
Date published: 2000-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from "Ruin" leaves you wanting more... The third book in the anticipated 20+ book series called "The New Jedi Order" is a wonderfully written story that gives the reader a true and deep understanding of all the characters involved. (Character development was a real focus in this novel.) Along with characters we're familiar with, and some that are brand new, Michael Stackpole manages to give a "humanity" to each of the characters, human or not. The reader sees through the eyes of each side, the Vong, the New Republic and the Imperial Remnant. We also see sides of characters we've never seen before (Han Solo, for example) and are left wanting more when the story is over. All in all, a great continuation from the last two books by M. Stackpole and R. A. Salvatore...look forward to number 4, due out in August!
Date published: 2000-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow!! Keep em coming! Wow. This book is a continuation of the Jedi Order series and continues beautifully! Masterfully written and nail-biting suspense keep the reader entralled in the novel. You want action? You got action, romance? Yeah, there's a little of that. Good guys beating up bad guys and vice-versa? Lots of this. :) I sincerely urge you to purchase and read this book. I promise you won't be disappointed!
Date published: 2000-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ruin is Force-full and Incredibly Written In this masterfully-written, explosive sequel to Vector Prime and Dark Tide I: Onslaught, Luke Skywalker and his companions face a threat worse than anything seen before . . . even the Empire! Fans of the other novels will delight to return to many of the characters and planets not written about for some years, but new fans will doubtlessly enjoy this as well. Michael Stackpole brings characters and scenes to life in an amazing way; its almost like watching a new Star Wars movie.
Date published: 2000-06-18