Rules For Stealing Stars

Hardcover | September 29, 2015

byCorey Ann Haydu

not yet rated|write a review

In the tradition of Sharon Creech and Wendy Mass, Corey Ann Haydu's sparkling middle grade debut is a sister story with a twist of magic, a swirl of darkness, and a whole lot of hope.

Silly is used to feeling left out. Her three older sisters think she's too little for most things—especially when it comes to dealing with their mother's unpredictable moods and outbursts. This summer, Silly feels more alone than ever when her sisters keep whispering and sneaking away to their rooms together, returning with signs that something mysterious is afoot: sporting sunburned cheeks smudged with glitter and gold hair that looks like tinsel.

When Silly is brought into her sisters' world, the truth is more exciting than she ever imagined. The sisters have discovered a magical place that gives them what they truly need: an escape from the complications of their home life. But there are dark truths there, too. Silly hopes the magic will be the secret to saving their family, but she's soon forced to wonder if it could tear them apart.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.45 online
$21.00 list price (save 12%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

In the tradition of Sharon Creech and Wendy Mass, Corey Ann Haydu's sparkling middle grade debut is a sister story with a twist of magic, a swirl of darkness, and a whole lot of hope.Silly is used to feeling left out. Her three older sisters think she's too little for most things—especially when it comes to dealing with their mother's ...

From the Jacket

Silly is used to feeling left out. Her three older sisters think she's too little for most things—especially when it comes to dealing with their mother's unpredictable moods and outbursts. But for Silly, that's normal. She hardly remembers a time when Mom wasn't drinking.This summer, Silly is more alone than ever, and it feels like eve...

Corey Ann Haydu is the author ofOCD Love Story,Life by Committee, andMaking Pretty. She grew up in the Boston area but now lives in Brooklyn, New York, where she drinks mochas and uses a lot of Post-it notes, habits she picked up while earning her MFA at the New School.

other books by Corey Ann Haydu

OCD Love Story
OCD Love Story

Paperback|Jul 22 2014

$12.96 online$12.99list price
Life By Committee
Life By Committee

Paperback|Apr 21 2015

$9.74 online$12.50list price(save 22%)
Making Pretty
Making Pretty

Hardcover|May 12 2015

$19.32 online$21.99list price(save 12%)
see all books by Corey Ann Haydu
Format:HardcoverDimensions:336 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.09 inPublished:September 29, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062352717

ISBN - 13:9780062352712

Customer Reviews of Rules For Stealing Stars

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Silly and her sisters are flesh-and-bone characters; they gripped me by my very heart and pulled me into their tense and mysterious family story. With beguiling moments of magical realism and engaging turns of phrase, Corey Ann Haydu has crafted a glowing middle grade debut.”