Saga Six Pack 5: Six Viking Classics by Peter Christen Asbjornsen

Saga Six Pack 5: Six Viking Classics

byPeter Christen Asbjornsen, R. M. Ballantyne, Snorri Sturluson

Kobo ebook | December 14, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info


Available for download

Not available in stores


“A tale is but half told when only one person tells it.”

- The Saga of Grettir the Strong.

Saga Six Pack 5 is a Viking-sized selection of Scandinavian super-stories:

  • Erling the Bold by R. M. Ballantyne
  • Big Peter and Little Peter by George Webbe Dasent
  • The Saga of Harald Hardrade by Snorri Sturluson
  • The Master Thief by Peter Christen Asbjørnsen
  • A Sea Queen's Sailing by Charles W. Whistler
  • Bruin and Reynard by Jørgen Engebretsen

Image gallery includes:

  • Surt, The Giant with the Flaming Sword by John Charles Dollman.  
  • 16th-century depiction of Norse gods by Olaus Magnus.
  • Wotan takes leave of Brunhild by Konrad Dielitz.
  • Thor and the Midgard Serpent by Emil Doepler.
  • Loki breaks free at the onset of Ragnarök by Ernst H. Walther.
  • A scene from the last phase of Ragnarök, after Surtr has engulfed the world with fire by Emil Doepler.
  • The new world that rises after Ragnarök by Emil Doepler.
  • Then the Awful Fight Began by George Wright, 1908.


Peter Christen Asbjørnsen (15 January 1812 — 6 January 1885) was a Norwegian writer and scholar. He and Jørgen Engebretsen Moe were collectors of Norwegian folklore.

Robert Michael Ballantyne (24 April 1825 – 8 February 1894) was a Scottish author who wrote more than 100 books.

George Webbe Dasent (1817–1896) was a translator of folk tales and contributor to The Times.

Jørgen Engebretsen Moe (22 April 1813 – 27 March 1882) was a Norwegian folklorist, bishop, poet and author. He is best known for the Norske Folkeeventyr, a collection of Norwegian folk tales which he edited in collaboration with Peter Christen Asbjørnsen.

Snorri Sturluson (1179-1241) was an Icelandic historian, poet, and politician. He was the author of the Prose Edda or Younger Edda, and the Háttatal, a list of verse forms.

Charles Watts Whistler (November 14, 1856 - June 10, 1913) was a writer of historic fiction that plays between 600 and 1100 AD, usually based on early English/Saxon chronicles, Norse or Danish Sagas and archaeological discoveries.

Title:Saga Six Pack 5: Six Viking ClassicsFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:December 14, 2015Publisher:Enhanced E-BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:


Look for similar items by category: