Sapphire the Great and the Meaning of Life

byBeverley BrennaIllustratorTara Anderson

Hardcover | February 22, 2019

Sapphire the Great and the Meaning of Life by Beverley Brenna
$19.93 online 
$19.95 list price
Earn 100 plum® points
Prices and offers may vary in store
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A poignant and humorous middle-grade novel for fans of Flora and Ulysses

It's not every day you encounter a hamster experiencing an existential crisis, but Sapphire has spent her short pet-store life convinced that she's waiting for...something. At first she thinks it's to be FREE, but it may be possible that life has a greater purpose in store--a purpose Sapphire will discover thanks to a nine-year-old girl whose family is changing in ways she doesn't quite understand. Jeannie's dad has moved out, her mom is always tired and snappish, and her older brother just wants to play video games in his room all day. Jeannie doesn't understand what’s going on, but she knows one thing: she really, REALLY wants a hamster. Her mom promised she could buy one with her Christmas money, but it's been WEEKS since the holidays and Jeannie's beginning to worry she'll never get her pet. But maybe if she does, her dad will come to visit. Maybe a hamster will make everything better.

With a cast that includes a transgender neighbor, a father coming out as gay, and a realistic protagonist who will appeal to fans of Ramona Quimby, Brenna's latest offering is an age-appropriate introduction to some difficult subjects that also abounds with humor and poignancy.

Narrated by Jeannie and Sapphire in alternating chapters, Sapphire the Great and the Meaning of Life is a touching middle-grade novel by award-winning author Beverley Brenna that explores themes of family, friendship, togetherness, and self-identity.

Beverley Brenna is an award-winning author whose honours include an international Dolly Gray Award, a Printz Honor Book Award, and a shortlisting for the 2013 Governor General’s Award. Bev's many years as a classroom and special education teacher offer her a clear picture of school landscapes, children, and childhood. She is now a prof...
Loading
Title:Sapphire the Great and the Meaning of LifeFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:160 pages, 8.5 X 6 X 0.5 inShipping dimensions:160 pages, 8.5 X 6 X 0.5 inPublished:February 22, 2019Publisher:Pajama Press Inc.Language:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1772780693

ISBN - 13:9781772780697

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: