Sarah, Plain And Tall 30th Anniversary Edition

Paperback | March 3, 2015

byPatricia Maclachlan

not yet rated|write a review

This Newbery Medal-winning book and children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss, and love. The 30th Anniversary edition includes author Patricia MacLachlan's Newbery speech, a discussion guide, and a reading list.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother, Caleb, wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.50

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

This Newbery Medal-winning book and children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss, and love. The 30th Anniversary edition includes...

From the Jacket

"Did Mama sing every day?"Caleb asks his sister Anna."Every-single-day," she answers."Papa sang, too."Their mother died the day after Caleb was born. Their house on the prairie is quiet now, and Papa doesn't sing anymore. Then Papa puts an ad in the paper, asking for a wife, and he receives a letter from one Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton, of...

Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless books for young readers, includingSarah, Plain and Tall, winner of the Newbery Medal. Her novels for young readers includeArthur, For the Very First Time;The Facts and Fictions of Minna Pratt;Skylark;Caleb's Story;More Perfect Than the Moon;Grandfather's Dance;Word After Wor...

other books by Patricia Maclachlan

You Were The First
You Were The First

Picture Books|Sep 24 2013

$16.70 online$23.49list price(save 28%)
The Poet's Dog
The Poet's Dog

Hardcover|Sep 13 2016

$18.50

Snowflakes Fall
Snowflakes Fall

Picture Books|Oct 29 2013

$19.91 online$19.99list price
see all books by Patricia Maclachlan
Format:PaperbackDimensions:112 pages, 7.62 × 5.12 × 0.22 inPublished:March 3, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062399527

ISBN - 13:9780062399526

Customer Reviews of Sarah, Plain And Tall 30th Anniversary Edition

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sarah Plain And Tall Short and tender children's classic. A good read to book for young children to present one view of pioneer times.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story This was one of the first novels I latched on to as a kid. It's great to reread old favourites and see how your perspective has changed.
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not so good. Well; I'm sure that this was a tender, and heartwarming story, but I didn't notice that because of the boring-ness of the book. It's not very exciting, and doesn't have a very good plot. Just not my kind of book i guess.
Date published: 2008-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Sentimental Story I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a story that puts a smile on their face. It is a sweet and tender novel set in the pioneer days. Even though the book is short, you really get to know the characters. Three cheers for Patricia MacLachlan!
Date published: 2000-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from KELAB HATES SARAH THIS IS AN EXTREMLY WICKED BOOK. GO AND BUY IT NOW
Date published: 2000-04-21