Sarah, Plain And Tall by Patricia MaclachlanSarah, Plain And Tall by Patricia Maclachlan

Sarah, Plain And Tall

byPatricia Maclachlan

Paperback | March 3, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.50

Earn 43 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

This anniversary edition includes author Patricia MacLachlan's Newbery speech, a discussion guide, and a reading list.

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.

Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless books for young readers, includingSarah, Plain and Tall, winner of the Newbery Medal. Her novels for young readers includeArthur, For the Very First Time;The Facts and Fictions of Minna Pratt;Skylark;Caleb's Story;More Perfect Than the Moon;Grandfather's Dance;Word After Wor...
Loading
Title:Sarah, Plain And TallFormat:PaperbackDimensions:112 pages, 7.62 × 5.12 × 0.22 inPublished:March 3, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062399527

ISBN - 13:9780062399526

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from a lovely children's story I read this book to both of my kids and they loved it. I believe there was a movie made from it as well...Really sweet and easy to read!
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic For those teachers out there, this is a great starter novel for your students
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story This was one of the first novels I latched on to as a kid. It's great to reread old favourites and see how your perspective has changed.
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not so good. Well; I'm sure that this was a tender, and heartwarming story, but I didn't notice that because of the boring-ness of the book. It's not very exciting, and doesn't have a very good plot. Just not my kind of book i guess.
Date published: 2008-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Sentimental Story I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a story that puts a smile on their face. It is a sweet and tender novel set in the pioneer days. Even though the book is short, you really get to know the characters. Three cheers for Patricia MacLachlan!
Date published: 2000-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from KELAB HATES SARAH THIS IS AN EXTREMLY WICKED BOOK. GO AND BUY IT NOW
Date published: 2000-04-21