Sarah, Plain And Tall 30th Anniversary Edition

Paperback | March 3, 2015

byPatricia Maclachlan

not yet rated|write a review

This Newbery Medal-winning book and children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss, and love. The 30th Anniversary edition includes author Patricia MacLachlan's Newbery speech, a discussion guide, and a reading list.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother, Caleb, wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.50

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

This Newbery Medal-winning book and children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss, and love. The 30th Anniversary edition includes...

From the Jacket

"Did Mama sing every day?"Caleb asks his sister Anna."Every-single-day," she answers."Papa sang, too."Their mother died the day after Caleb was born. Their house on the prairie is quiet now, and Papa doesn't sing anymore. Then Papa puts an ad in the paper, asking for a wife, and he receives a letter from one Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton, of...

Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless books for young readers, includingSarah, Plain and Tall, winner of the Newbery Medal. Her novels for young readers includeArthur, For the Very First Time;The Facts and Fictions of Minna Pratt;Skylark;Caleb's Story;More Perfect Than the Moon;Grandfather's Dance;Word After Wor...

other books by Patricia Maclachlan

You Were The First
You Were The First

Picture Books|Sep 24 2013

$17.41 online$23.49list price(save 25%)
All The Places To Love
All The Places To Love

Hardcover|Apr 22 1994

$19.25 online$21.99list price(save 12%)
More Perfect than the Moon
More Perfect than the Moon

Paperback|Jul 26 2005

$7.25

see all books by Patricia Maclachlan
Format:PaperbackDimensions:112 pages, 7.62 × 5.12 × 0.22 inPublished:March 3, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062399527

ISBN - 13:9780062399526

Customer Reviews of Sarah, Plain And Tall 30th Anniversary Edition

Reviews