Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MaclachlanSarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia Maclachlansticker-burst

Sarah, Plain and Tall

byPatricia Maclachlan

Paperback | September 4, 1987

Pricing and Purchase Info

$6.73 online 
$6.99 list price
Earn 34 plum® points

Out of stock online

Available in stores

about

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view,Sarah, Plain and Talltells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language.Sarah, Plain and Tallgently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless books for young readers, includingSarah, Plain and Tall, winner of the Newbery Medal. Her novels for young readers includeArthur, For the Very First Time;The Facts and Fictions of Minna Pratt;Skylark;Caleb's Story;More Perfect Than the Moon;Grandfather's Dance;Word After Wor...
Loading
Title:Sarah, Plain and TallFormat:PaperbackDimensions:96 pagesPublished:September 4, 1987Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0064402053

ISBN - 13:9780064402057

Appropriate for ages: 6 - 8

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from a lovely children's story I read this book to both of my kids and they loved it. I believe there was a movie made from it as well...Really sweet and easy to read!
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Classic For those teachers out there, this is a great starter novel for your students
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story This was one of the first novels I latched on to as a kid. It's great to reread old favourites and see how your perspective has changed.
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not so good. Well; I'm sure that this was a tender, and heartwarming story, but I didn't notice that because of the boring-ness of the book. It's not very exciting, and doesn't have a very good plot. Just not my kind of book i guess.
Date published: 2008-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Sentimental Story I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a story that puts a smile on their face. It is a sweet and tender novel set in the pioneer days. Even though the book is short, you really get to know the characters. Three cheers for Patricia MacLachlan!
Date published: 2000-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from KELAB HATES SARAH THIS IS AN EXTREMLY WICKED BOOK. GO AND BUY IT NOW
Date published: 2000-04-21

From Our Editors

Hand picked by our Panel of Experts the IndigoKids Recommends program offers book suggestions designed to help you find the perfect book easily and confidently. Pioneer life is hard enough without a mother -- or a wife. Caleb and Anna have understandably mixed feelings when their father announces his intention to fetch home a mail-order bride. A stepmother! But Sarah, though she is without a doubt tall and plain, is also courageous, fun and a solid person for everyone in the household to lean on. The children learn to cope with their fears and rejoice in a real family again in this heartfelt novel, certain to touch a chord with any child who has suffered a family shakedown. Sarah, Plain and Tall garnered author Patricia MacLachlan a Newbery Medal in 1986 and remains a classic of middle fiction with its honest portrayals, culled from MacLachlan’s own life, of the intricate, intimate relationships within a family.

Editorial Reviews

“A book that is filled with wisdom, gentle humor and the practical concerns necessary for a satisfying life. Terse writing and poetic rhythm flow to create a tender story about the fragile beginnings of a family relationship on its way to permanence.” (School Library Journal)