Sarah, Plain and Tall

Paperback | September 4, 1987

byPatricia Maclachlan

not yet rated|write a review

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view,Sarah, Plain and Talltells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language.Sarah, Plain and Tallgently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Pricing and Purchase Info

$6.70 online
$6.99 list price
Out of stock online
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From Our Editors

Hand picked by our Panel of Experts the IndigoKids Recommends program offers book suggestions designed to help you find the perfect book easily and confidently. Pioneer life is hard enough without a mother -- or a wife. Caleb and Anna have understandably mixed feelings when their father announces his intention to fetch home a mail-ord...

From the Publisher

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna."Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."This Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view,Sarah, Plain and Talltells ...

From the Jacket

"Did Mama sing every day?"Caleb asks his sister Anna."Every-single-day," she answers."Papa sang, too."Their mother died the day after Caleb was born. Their house on the prairie is quiet now, and Papa doesn't sing anymore. Then Papa puts an ad in the paper, asking for a wife, and he receives a letter from one Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton, of...

Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless books for young readers, includingSarah, Plain and Tall, winner of the Newbery Medal. Her novels for young readers includeArthur, For the Very First Time;The Facts and Fictions of Minna Pratt;Skylark;Caleb's Story;More Perfect Than the Moon;Grandfather's Dance;Word After Wor...

other books by Patricia Maclachlan

The True Gift: A Christmas Story
The True Gift: A Christmas Story

Hardcover|Oct 6 2009

$16.09 online$17.99list price(save 10%)
You Were The First
You Were The First

Picture Books|Sep 24 2013

$16.79 online$21.49list price(save 21%)
The Poet's Dog
The Poet's Dog

Hardcover|Sep 13 2016

$18.50

see all books by Patricia Maclachlan
Format:PaperbackDimensions:96 pagesPublished:September 4, 1987Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0064402053

ISBN - 13:9780064402057

Appropriate for ages: 6 - 8

Customer Reviews of Sarah, Plain and Tall

Extra Content

From Our Editors

Hand picked by our Panel of Experts the IndigoKids Recommends program offers book suggestions designed to help you find the perfect book easily and confidently. Pioneer life is hard enough without a mother -- or a wife. Caleb and Anna have understandably mixed feelings when their father announces his intention to fetch home a mail-order bride. A stepmother! But Sarah, though she is without a doubt tall and plain, is also courageous, fun and a solid person for everyone in the household to lean on. The children learn to cope with their fears and rejoice in a real family again in this heartfelt novel, certain to touch a chord with any child who has suffered a family shakedown. Sarah, Plain and Tall garnered author Patricia MacLachlan a Newbery Medal in 1986 and remains a classic of middle fiction with its honest portrayals, culled from MacLachlan’s own life, of the intricate, intimate relationships within a family.

Editorial Reviews

“A book that is filled with wisdom, gentle humor and the practical concerns necessary for a satisfying life. Terse writing and poetic rhythm flow to create a tender story about the fragile beginnings of a family relationship on its way to permanence.” (School Library Journal)