Sarah, Plain and Tall

Paperback | September 4, 1987

byPatricia Maclachlan

not yet rated|write a review

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan''s chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna''s point of view,Sarah, Plain and Talltells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa''s advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children''s literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder''s Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language.Sarah, Plain and Tallgently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Pricing and Purchase Info

$6.70 online
$6.99 list price
Out of stock online
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From Our Editors

Hand picked by our Panel of Experts the IndigoKids Recommends program offers book suggestions designed to help you find the perfect book easily and confidently. Pioneer life is hard enough without a mother -- or a wife. Caleb and Anna have understandably mixed feelings when their father announces his intention to fetch home a mail-order bride. A stepmother! But Sarah, though she is without a ...

From the Publisher

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna."Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."This Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view,Sarah, Plain and Talltells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to th...

From the Jacket

"Did Mama sing every day?"Caleb asks his sister Anna."Every-single-day," she answers."Papa sang, too."Their mother died the day after Caleb was born. Their house on the prairie is quiet now, and Papa doesn't sing anymore. Then Papa puts an ad in the paper, asking for a wife, and he receives a letter from one Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton, of Maine. Papa, Anna, and Caleb write back. Caleb asks if she sin...

Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless books for young readers, includingSarah, Plain and Tall, winner of the Newbery Medal. Her novels for young readers includeArthur, For the Very First Time;The Facts and Fictions of Minna Pratt;Skylark;Caleb's Story;More Perfect Than the Moon;Grandfather's Dance;Word After Word After Word;Kindred Souls; andThe Truth of Me. She is also the author of many much...

other books by Patricia Maclachlan

You Were The First
You Were The First

Picture Books|Sep 24 2013

$16.89 online$21.49list price(save 21%)
The Iridescence of Birds: A Book About Henri Matisse
The Iridescence of Birds: A Book About Henri Matisse

Hardcover|Oct 14 2014

$15.12 online$19.99list price(save 24%)
The Poet's Dog
The Poet's Dog

Hardcover|Sep 13 2016

$18.50

see all books by Patricia Maclachlan
Format:PaperbackDimensions:96 pagesPublished:September 4, 1987Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0064402053

ISBN - 13:9780064402057

Appropriate for ages: 6 - 8

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not so good. Well; I'm sure that this was a tender, and heartwarming story, but I didn't notice that because of the boring-ness of the book. It's not very exciting, and doesn't have a very good plot. Just not my kind of book i guess.
Date published: 2008-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Sentimental Story I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a story that puts a smile on their face. It is a sweet and tender novel set in the pioneer days. Even though the book is short, you really get to know the characters. Three cheers for Patricia MacLachlan!
Date published: 2000-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from KELAB HATES SARAH THIS IS AN EXTREMLY WICKED BOOK. GO AND BUY IT NOW
Date published: 2000-04-21