Satan in St Mary's (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 1): A thrilling medieval mystery

Kobo ebook | October 30, 2012

Satan in St Mary's (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 1): A thrilling medieval mystery
$0.99

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

Will Hugh Corbett be able to discover the truth before London is overrun by a sinister secret society?

Satan in St Mary's is the first thrilling book in the acclaimed Hugh Corbett series from Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susanna Gregory.

'Vitality in the cityscape... angst in the mystery; it's Peters minus the herbs but plus a few crates of sack' - Oxford Times

1284 and Edward I is battling a traitorous movement founded by the late Simon de Montfort, the rebel who lost his life at the Battle of Evesham in 1258. The Pentangle, the movement's underground society whose members are known to practice the black arts, is thought to be behind the apparent suicide of Lawrence Duket, one of the King's loyal subjects, in revenge for Duket's murder of one of their supporters. The King, deeply suspicious of the affair, orders his wily Chancellor, Burnell, to look into the matter. Burnell chooses a sharp and clever clerk from the Court of King's Bench, Hugh Corbett, to conduct the investigation. Corbett - together with his manservant, Ranulf, late of Newgate - is swiftly drawn into the tangled politics and dark and dangerous underworld of medieval London. Will Corbett be able to find the truth before London is overrun by the Pentangle?

What readers are saying about Satan in St Mary's:

'Doherty has a gift for bringing distant ages alive and for populating his books with endearing, believable characters'

'Doherty makes this period come to life'

'Excellent reading, I had difficulty in putting the book down!'

Title:Satan in St Mary's (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 1): A thrilling medieval mysteryFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:October 30, 2012Publisher:HeadlineLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0755350308

ISBN - 13:9780755350308

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: