Scare The Light Away

Paperback | April 1, 2012

byVicki Delany

not yet rated|write a review
Recently widowed Rebecca McKenzie, a successful Vancouver businesswoman, returns to small-town Hope River after an absence of 30 years to attend her mother''s funeral. Estranged from her father and two older siblings, she''s left a brutal childhood and a psychopathic grandfather behind. She expects her visit home to be short. but then she discovers the diaries written by her mother, a British war bride with a young baby who came to Canada to join a husband she scarcely knew. Rebecca (and the reader) find her heart wrung by her mother''s story.


Meanwhile, a young girl has gone missing, and the suspicions of the townspeople fall on Rebecca''s handsome, charming brother Jimmy. Before long, violence threatens and Rebecca must put aside some long-held grievances to protect Jimmy and find the real killer.


This debut novel will appeal to readers of Jacqueline Winspear''s Maisie Dobbs and Pip Granger''s Not All Tarts Are Apple and its sequels, evoking admiration, respect, and sympathy for members of The Greatest Generation, both English and Canadian.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.41 online
$19.50 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

Recently widowed Rebecca McKenzie, a successful Vancouver businesswoman, returns to small-town Hope River after an absence of 30 years to attend her mother's funeral. Estranged from her father and two older siblings, she's left a brutal childhood and a psychopathic grandfather behind. She expects her visit home to be short. but then she discovers the diaries written by her mother, a British war br...

Having taken early retirement from her job as a systems analyst in the high-pressure financial world, Vicki Delany is settling down to the rural life in bucolic, Prince Edward County, Ontario where she rarely wears a watch.

other books by Vicki Delany

We Wish You A Murderous Christmas: A Year Round Christmas Mystery
We Wish You A Murderous Christmas: A Year Round Christm...

Mass Market Paperback|Nov 1 2016

$9.75 online$10.99list price(save 11%)
see all books by Vicki Delany
Format:PaperbackDimensions:250 pages, 8.5 × 5.51 × 0.78 inPublished:April 1, 2012Publisher:Poisoned Pen PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1590589920

ISBN - 13:9781590589922

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews