Seeker by Arwen Elys DaytonSeeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

Seeker

byArwen Elys Dayton

Paperback | December 1, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.43 online 
$12.99 list price save 19%
Earn 52 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

“Katniss and Tris would approve.” —TeenVogue.com
 

“This book will not disappoint.” —USAToday.com
 
“Fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Marie Lu’s Legend, and Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games series: your next obsession has arrived.” —SLJ
 
A genre-bending sci-fi/fantasy about a group of teens who are trained to kill and marked to die.
 
   The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor.
   As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world. And she’ll be with the boy she loves—who’s also her best friend.
   But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes. Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought. And now it’s too late to walk away.

More praise for Seeker, book one in the Seeker series:
 
“[A] genre-blending sci-fi, fantasy…[with] action-packed scenes.”—Booklist
 
“In this powerful beginning to a complex family saga . . . Dayton excels at creating memorable characters.”—Publishers Weekly

“Secrets, danger, and romance meet in this unforgettable epic fantasy.” —Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of Beautiful Creatures and author of Unbreakable
 
A tightly woven, action-packed story of survival and adventure, Seeker is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.” —Tahereh Mafi, author of the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series
Arwen Elys Dayton spends months doing research for her stories. Her explorations have taken her around the world to places like the Great Pyramid at Giza, Hong Kong and its many islands, and lots of ruined castles in Scotland.   Arwen lives with her husband and their three children on the West Coast of the United States. You can visit ...
Loading
Title:SeekerFormat:PaperbackDimensions:480 pages, 8.19 × 5.56 × 1.01 inPublished:December 1, 2015Publisher:Random House Children's BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0385744080

ISBN - 13:9780385744089

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really liked this I don't understand why people have disliked this book. It has an interesting storyline that makes you question where several aspects of this made-up world came from (and I find it keeps me reading because I want to know the answers). I found it interesting and really liked the book, then the rest of the series as well. I recommend to anyone who is interested in reading this to try it for themselves, since everyone can have a different opinion of a novel.
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from First part was good I actually am one of the few who enjoyed the first part of the book, but... then it just got worse and worse until I skimmed through the last few chapters. There are much better books out there.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seeker Not bad, but not very good either. The first half of the book was slow and boring, but I guess it is building up what will happen in the second half. The second half of the book starts to get interesting. Especially when Quinn and Shinobu finally meets up again. Really enjoy reading Shinobu's chapters, he is my favorite character in this book.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I wanted so bad to love this I wanted so bad to love this book. It's a fantasy novel set in Scotland that from the book cover and ads suggest it is full of adventure! I was hooked. Until I started reading it. The book was very slow until I was 75% through, and the world building was foggy and loose to a point where I just couldn't become immersed. Then the main character loses her memory and we have to reread the loose explanation of her role as a seeker and about her world. It was frustrating at most times. My favourite character was by far Shinobu. He was humorous, and flawed. Maud was not far behind him. I loved reading about her past, and present. Overall I gave the book 3 stars as the last 25% of it was really enjoyable, fast paced, and I would purchase the second book if it is anything like the last part of the first. I will wait for reviews on whether or not this will be worthy of my reading time.
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This book is amazing I don't know why everyone hates this book because I found it to be one of the best books I have ever read.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst book of 2015 This book was so poorly written and organised, that I struggled through the first 36 chapters (which is roughly halfway through this book) and I gave up.
Date published: 2015-12-05

Editorial Reviews

“Katniss and Tris would approve.”—TeenVogue.com"This book will not disappoint."-USAToday.com"Fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Marie Lu’s Legend, and Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games series: your next obsession has arrived."-School Library Journal"In this powerful beginning to a complex family saga...Dayton excels at creating memorable characters."-Publishers Weekly“[A] genre-blending sci-fi, fantasy…[with] action-packed scenes.”—Booklist"Secrets, danger, and romance meet in this unforgettable epic fantasy." —Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of Beautiful Creatures & author of Unbreakable"A tightly-woven, action-packed story of survivial and adventure, Seeker is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones." —Tahereh Mafi, author of the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me seriesFrom the Hardcover edition.