Self-government in the Philippines by Maximo Manguiat Kalaw

Self-government in the Philippines

byMaximo Manguiat Kalaw

Paperback | January 14, 2012

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 100 plum® points

Out of stock online

Not available in stores


This historic book may have numerous typos, missing text or index. Purchasers can download a free scanned copy of the original book (without typos) from the publisher. 1919. Not illustrated. Excerpt: ... i This Chapter is taken mostly from a special memorandum to the Secretary of the Interior by the Chief of the Executive Bureau. 2 The regularly organized provinces are Albay, Ambos, Camarines, Antique, Bataan, Batangas, Bohol, Bulacan, Cagayan, Capiz, Cavite, Cebu, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Iloilo, Isabela, Laguna, La Union, Leyte, Misamis, Nueva Ecija, Occidental Negros, Oriental Negros, Pampanga, Pangasinan, Rizal, Samar, Sorsogon, Surigao, Tarlac, Tayabas, Sambales, Abra, Romblon. The special provinces are Batanes, Mindoro, Mountain Province, Neuva Vizcaya, Palawan, Agusan, Bukidnon, Cotabato, Davao, Latino, Sulu and Zamboanga. dency on the part of large provinces to split up into two or more provinces, whenever the financial conditions warrant such a division and the people concerned desire it. Since 1913, two new regular provinces have been added; namely, Abra, formerly a sub-province of Ilocos Sur, and Romblon, formerly a sub-province of Capiz. The Legislature also recently authorized the Governor-General to separate Camarines Norte from Ambos Camarines and organize it as an independent province. Similarly there has been a tendency to increase the number of municipalities. In 1913 there were 745 municipalities, whereas this year (1919) there are 792. This number does not include the several municipalities created in the provinces within the Department of Mindanao and Sulu. Municipalities are governed by a municipal president, vice-president, treasurer, secretary and councilors. All of these are elected except the secretary and treasurer. There are also municipal boards of health or municipal sanitary divisions. The cities of Manila and Baguio have special charters. Although, as a general rule, the organization of new provinces and municipalities is favored...

Details & Specs

Title:Self-government in the PhilippinesFormat:PaperbackDimensions:46 pages, 9.69 × 7.44 × 0.1 inPublished:January 14, 2012Publisher:General Books LLCLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0217551149

ISBN - 13:9780217551144

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Self-government in the Philippines