Shade Me by Jennifer BrownShade Me by Jennifer Brown

Shade Me

byJennifer Brown

Hardcover | January 19, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.91 online 
$21.99 list price save 23%
Earn 85 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

The first book in bestselling author Jennifer Brown’s thrilling suspense series for fans of Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars, Shade Me is about a unique girl who becomes entangled in a mysterious crime and lured into a sexy but dangerous relationship with a boy who may be a suspect.

Nikki Kill has always been an outsider. Born with rare synesthesia, she sees the world differently. In Nikki’s eyes, happiness is pink, sadness is a mixture of brown and green, and lies are gray.

To Nikki, Peyton Hollis, the ultrarich it-girl at school, was seemingly untouchable. That is, until Peyton is violently attacked and the only phone number the hospital finds in Peyton’s cell is Nikki’s. Suddenly Nikki is pulled into Peyton’s glittering, fast-paced world as she tries to unravel an unfolding conspiracy.

As Nikki gets closer to the dark truth—and to Peyton’s gorgeous older brother—the only thing she can be sure of is death is a deep, pulsing crimson.

Title:Shade MeFormat:HardcoverDimensions:448 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.37 inPublished:January 19, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062324438

ISBN - 13:9780062324436

Customer Reviews of Shade Me

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Book! This was a great book, the mystery was well structured with a few surprising twists. Nikki is kinda cold hearted but she's also strong and smart, she gets the job done. The villains were downright creepy and very well written.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyable A very interesting idek and plot, although the characters may be a bit cold
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Thriller that Promises More I always appreciate a good thriller hence when I read the synopsis for Shade Me, I knew I needed to get my hands on a copy. After reading it, I'm pleased to say the story was indeed mysterious. Albeit things were a bit convenient at times, I enjoyed following the trail that led to the eventual showdown. Nikki Kill has no clue why the most popular girl in school, Peyton Hollis, would call her. After learning that Peyton is in a coma, Nikki's curiosity, fueled by her desire to know why, led her into more trouble and danger than she ever bargained for. As she got sucked deeper and deeper into Peyton's world, she uncovers secrets and lies. One secret in particular rocked the foundation of her world and changed it forever. I did not see it coming. I won't say too much but when the realization hit me, I was surprised. What fascinated me most was Nikki's synthesia. Prior to reading this book I had no clue what synthesia was or even that it's a real disorder (note: I use the word disorder because according to Google that's how it's classified). Nikki's unique ability allowed her to detect emotions through colour association. In many ways, she was a lie detector and that guided her in her search for Peyton's attacker. Nikki didn't make good decisions. She made poor ones that's led her again and again into life-threatening situations. If it wasn't for her fighting skills, I don't know how she would've survived long enough to find the truth. It's also a relief that a persistent detective looked out for her. Dru and Nikki had great chemistry together. Another thing that surprised me was how fast their non-relationship happened. In a way it made sense since both parties were not the type to wait around and dwell. I am saddened with the outcome of their relationship. I guess it was redeeming in a way words can't express. I wouldn't say I was disappointed exactly but I figured out the perpetrator and the motive fairly early on. I was desperately hoping I was wrong but it was too obvious to overlook- basically in plain sight. There were a few shockers but they came at a high price to the characters that I'm not sure they were entirely necessary. I wanted more complexity in terms of the storyline instead I got a tangled mess of relationships. You remember that realization that hit me (from above)? A total set up for more. By the end of the book, I felt there were more unresolved matters than when the book began. That frustrated me more than I thought possible. There is a bigger picture in Shade Me that we have yet to dive into. Despite my frustration with the setups, I will continue on with the story. It's one to experience for yourself.
Date published: 2016-01-15

Editorial Reviews

“Nikki is a complex character with potential for growth, and her gritty determination to find the truth, while it almost undoes her, is what makes her compelling.”