Shadow Of The Raven

January 27, 2015|
Shadow Of The Raven by Tessa Harris
$16.95
Paperback
Earn 85 plum® points

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

Prices and offers may vary in store

about

Ensconced in the woods of rural England, 1784, American anatomist Dr. Thomas Silkstone hunts for justice amid a maelstrom of madness, murder, and social upheaval.  .  .

 

In the notorious mental hospital known as Bedlam, Dr. Thomas Silkstone seeks out a patient with whom he is on intimate terms. But he is unprepared for the state in which he finds Lady Lydia Farrell. Shocked into action, Thomas vows to help free Lydia by appealing to the custodian of her affairs, Mr. Nicholas Lupton. But when Silkstone arrives at the Boughton Estate to speak to Lupton, he finds that another form of madness has taken over the village.  .  .

 

Sweeping changes to the Boughton Estate threaten to leave many villagers, who are rightfully angry, destitute. After a single shot rings out and a man dies in the woods, it appears that the desperate villagers have turned to murder to avenge their cause. But for Thomas, a post-mortem on the victim raises more questions than answers. Although he manages to save an innocent man from the gallows, a second murder warns him of his potentially fatal situation. Soon he discovers a conspiracy far more sinister than anything he has ever faced. But who it leads to is the last person he suspects.  .  .

 

Outstanding praise for Tessa Harris and her Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mysteries!

 

The Devil's Breath

 

"Excellent.  .  .Both literally and figuratively atmospheric, this will appeal to fans of Imogen Robertson's series during the same period." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

 

"Stunning.  .  .perfect book club fodder." --Library Journal

 

"A fascinating series.  .  .Harris is at her vivid best describing in precise, fearsome detail the ‘Great Fogg'." --The New York Times Book Review

 

The Dead Shall Not Rest

 

"Highly recommended." --Historical Novel Reviews

 

"Outstanding.  .  .well-rounded characters, cleverly concealed evidence and an assured prose style point to a long run for this historical series." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

 

"Populated with real historical characters and admirably researched, Harris's novel features a complex and engrossing plot.  A touch of romance makes this sophomore outing even more enticing. Savvy readers will also recall Hilary Mantel's The Giant, O'Brien." --Library Journal

 

The Anatomist's Apprentice

 

"Densely plotted.  .  . We await--indeed, demand--the sequel." --The New York Times Book Review

 

"An absorbing debut.  .  . Harris has more than a few tricks up her sleeve and even veteran armchair puzzle solvers are likely to be surprised." --Publishers Weekly

 

"Smart misdirection and time-period appropriate medical details make for a promising start to a new series. A strong choice for readers of Ariana Franklin and Caleb Carr." --Library Journal

Tessa Harris is the author of the acclaimed Dr. Thomas Silkstone mysteries, including Secrets in the Stones and The Anatomist's Apprentice. A graduate of Oxford University with a history degree, Tessa has also been a journalist and editor, contributing to many publications such as the Times and the Telegraph. She has also acted as a li...
Loading
Title:Shadow Of The RavenFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:368 pages, 8.3 X 5.6 X 1 inShipping dimensions:368 pages, 8.3 X 5.6 X 1 inPublished:January 27, 2015Publisher:KensingtonLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0758293399

ISBN - 13:9780758293398

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: