Shakespeares Workmanship by Arthur Quiller-CouchShakespeares Workmanship by Arthur Quiller-Couch

Shakespeares Workmanship

byArthur Quiller-Couch

Paperback | September 18, 2008

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 259 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Sir Arthur Quiller-Couch (1863-1944), who often published under the pen-name of 'Q', was one of the giants of early twentieth-century literature and literary criticism. A novelist and poet who was also a Professor of English, he helped to form the literary tastes of generations of literary students and scholars who came after him. The freshness, enthusiasm and intellectual insight of his work is still evident in his writings nearly a century on. Cambridge University Press is delighted to reissue some of his key texts in this new edition. Shakespeare's Workmanship, first published in 1918, offers detailed readings of Macbeth, A Midsummer Night's Dream, The Merchant of Venice, As You Like It, Hamlet, Pericles and King Henry VIII, Cymbeline, The Winter's Tale and The Tempest, with an account of the story of Falstaff, and a general description of the features of Shakespeare's later plays.
Sir Arthur Thomas Quiller-Couch was born on November 21, 1863 at Bodmin in the county of Cornwall, England. His sisters, Florence Mabel and Lilian, were also writers. While attending Trinity College, Oxford he wrote Dead Man's Rock under the pseudonym "Q" in 1882. He moved to London that same year. He wrote The Astonishing History of T...
Title:Shakespeares WorkmanshipFormat:PaperbackDimensions:324 pages, 7.99 × 5 × 0.71 inPublished:September 18, 2008Publisher:Cambridge University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0521736811

ISBN - 13:9780521736817

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

1. Macbeth; 2. Macbeth; 3. Macbeth; 4. A Midsummer-Night's Dream; 5. The Merchant of Venice; 6. As You Like It; 7. The Story of Falstaff; 8. Hamlet; 9. Hamlet; 10. Hamlet; 11. Shakespeare's Later Workmanship; 12. Pericles and King Henry VIII; 13. Cymbeline; 14. The Winter's Tale; 15. The Tempest; 16. The Tempest; 17. The Tempest.