Shallow Graves

Hardcover | January 26, 2016

byKali Wallace

not yet rated|write a review

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight, and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.52 online
$21.99 list price (save 11%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s so...

From the Jacket

Breezy remembers leaving the party: the warm, wet grass under her feet, her cheek still stinging from a slap to her face. But when she wakes up, scared and pulling dirt from her mouth, a year has passed and she can’t explain how.Nor can she explain the man lying at her grave, dead from her touch, or why her heartbeat comes and goes. Sh...

Format:HardcoverDimensions:368 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.17 inPublished:January 26, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062366203

ISBN - 13:9780062366207

Customer Reviews of Shallow Graves

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from A For the Lover of Books Review Number of pages: 358 Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1 Rating (out of five stars): 4 This book is addicting. I did not want to put it down. I stayed up late reading (something I don’t really do anymore) and I read all day today. I needed to keep reading until the very last page. I have always loved paranormal books. It started with medium (as in the people who can speak to ghosts) books when I was fairly young, I then turned to vampires and magic when I was a little older (though I never liked Twilight), and now I will read any type of paranormal book (although I am not a Werewolf or Zombie fan). I love reading about the lore. I love reading about all the intriguing and frightening things that could be done with magic and felling chills down my spine. This book was perfect for me. It had well explained lore, it had an interesting cast of creatures and it stared a logical, sarcastic dead girl. What’s not to love? When I was younger, I loved that reading was like watching a movie that only I could see, but I gradually lost the ability to see the book play out as clearly as I used to in my head. I loved getting that back while reading Shallow Graves. I could picture scenes without thinking about it, and pictures of characters flashed in my mind. So this book has been very nostalgic for me, but why should you read it? I could go on about diversity, but I don’t like talking about diversity, because in my mind you shouldn’t be reading a book simply because a character is of a certain race or sexuality. This book was dark, but Breezy brought her sarcastic sense of humour to it to lighten the mood. If you like books filled with action, suspense, and humour then this is the book for you. Also, if you enjoy books with very little romance, Shallow Graves has you covered. I spent a large chunk of the book expecting two characters to become romantically involved, but the most romance it contained was a few crushes. So, if you’re in the mood for a paranormal YA book without the standard love interest, Shallow Graves is the perfect book for you. I found the ending a little strange and it was a little lacking on the emotional front, but Shallow Graves was ultimately a suspenseful and amusing paranormal book. It has therefore earned 4 out of five stars.
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delightfully creepy Okay. So I now know what it's like to not breathe for 358 pages. After the first three, I had to stop and put the book aside so I could pack my heart in bubble wrap because I knew it was going to get SMASHED. SHALLOW GRAVES is super intense and the kind of creepy that stays with you long after you've stuffed the book in your freezer. (Freezer not book shelf because how else do you keep the monsters from getting loose?) Kali Wallace's vivid writing leapt from the page and kept me reading from start to finish. I read this book in one sitting and I still couldn't turn the pages fast enough. I know it's a standalone, but I would love to hear more from Breezy Lin and her amazing author.
Date published: 2016-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lacked depth but great concept Breezy remembers leaving the party but the next time she wakes, she’s in a grave and a year has passed. She has no explanation for what happened, or for the man at the foot of her grave that she seems to have killed with her touch after he dug her up. All she knows is that she’s now conscious and can feel if anyone around her has killed someone. Breezy sets out to find answers, both about what she is now and about the night of her death. If that wasn’t enough, there’s a dangerous cult hunting creatures and Breezy has found herself on their radar. Shallow Graves was a creepy book that had a lot of darkness and chills. The whole concept was a dark one, a murdered girl who woke up a year later and could kill people who have killed, and a cult hunting down anyone like her. There were many tense moments and the plot was paced to make me want to keep turning the pages to find out what was going to happen. Breezy was a character with a lot of darkness around her but her voice could also be quite humorous, especially heavy with sarcasm. Her struggle was interesting. Did her sudden powers to kill make her a monster? What was she supposed to do now? Was she brought back for a purpose? She had to decide if she wanted to try to get used to her new life and what that meant for her old one. I wish we’d gotten to see more of Breezy before she woke in her grave since there were a lot of times it felt like she was handling things a little too well and I wasn’t sure if it was normal for her or if it was a new development. The secondary characters were lacking in depth for me in this book. Breezy met so many people so I can understand not all of them getting some spotlight time, but there were ones she had significant contact with and they still felt a little two-dimensional. It felt like I was supposed to care about them because they were helping Breezy, not because they were worth it on their own. The plot was very well paced, as mentioned. There were so many pieces being introduced that by the end, it was a little hard to keep track of everything, but for the most part it just ended up adding to the story. There was usually enough time to get used to one added element before the next was introduced. It was only near the end when things seemed to get a little too fast. It was a good read. I just would have liked a little more depth all around. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2016-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best kind of creepy. Okay. So I now know what it's like to not breathe for 358 pages. After the first three, I had to stop and put the book aside so I could pack my heart in bubble wrap because I knew it was going to get SMASHED. SHALLOW GRAVES is super intense and the kind of creepy that stays with you long after you've stuffed the book in your freezer. (Freezer not book shelf because how else do you keep the monsters from getting loose?) Kali Wallace's vivid writing leapt from the page and kept me reading from start to finish. I read this book in one sitting and I still couldn't turn the pages fast enough. I know it's a standalone, but I would love to hear more from Breezy Lin and her amazing author. (I received an ARC in exchanged for an honest review.)
Date published: 2016-01-21

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Writing in Breezy’s pragmatic and engaging voice, Wallace weaves an unsettling tale that explores Breezy’s strange existence, while also thoughtfully examining a life cut short...her struggle to reconcile what she has become with the human she used to be forms the heart of this bittersweet story.”