Shelter: An Architect's Journey Into Sustainability by Wayne BinghamShelter: An Architect's Journey Into Sustainability by Wayne Bingham

Shelter: An Architect's Journey Into Sustainability

byWayne Bingham

Paperback | October 17, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 120 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


After practicing conventional glass, steel, and concrete architecture for more than thirty years, an award-winning architect discovers the concept of sustainable living and embarks on a journey that ends with his own strawbale home at the foot of the Grand Tetons. A complete source of information for sustainable and off-the-grid construction, Shelter explores the principles of sustainable living and then illustrates actual execution of those principles in the author's strawbale home. Both an exploration of sustainability from an architect's point of view as well as a practical reference for home builders, Shelter is an indispensable resource to those interested in leaving a smaller foot print on the environment. Follow the author from the beginning idea through the planning, designing, and constructing to the realities of living in his strawbale dream home.
Wayne Bingham is an architect, author, and photographer. He has practiced architecture for a wide variety of private and public buildings in the United States. As past President of AIA Salt Lake he was instrumental in developing and building the AIA Habitat For Humanity, Chairperson for Design for Life Workshops, Chairperson for the AI...
Title:Shelter: An Architect's Journey Into SustainabilityFormat:PaperbackDimensions:198 pages, 9.07 × 6.14 × 0.49 inPublished:October 17, 2014Publisher:FamiliusLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:193962925X

ISBN - 13:9781939629258


Table of Contents

• Chapter 1: The Odyssey-Finding a Direction • Chapter 2: How Is an Adventure Born? • Chapter 3: Translating the Dream into a Design • Chapter 4: Building the Dream-The First Summer 2002 • Chapter 5: Building the Dream-The Second Summer 2003 • Chapter 6: Building the Dream-The Third Summer 2004 • Chapter 7: Building the Dream-The Fourth Summer 2005 • Chapter 8: Building the Dream-The Fifth Summer 2006 • Chapter 9: Living the Dream