Side Effects May Vary

Hardcover | March 18, 2014

byJulie Murphy

not yet rated|write a review

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel about a girl with cancer who creates a take-no-prisoners bucket list that sets off a war at school—only to discover she's gone into remission.

When sixteen-year-old Alice is diagnosed with leukemia, she vows to spend her final months righting wrongs. So she convinces her best friend, Harvey, to help her with a crazy bucket list that's as much about revenge as it is about hope. But just when Alice's scores are settled, she goes into remission, and now she must face the consequences of all she's said and done. Contemporary realistic-fiction readers who love romantic stories featuring strong heroines will find much to savor in this standout debut.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.82 online
$21.99 list price (save 23%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel about a girl with cancer who creates a take-no-prisoners bucket list that sets off a war at school—only to discover she's gone into remission.When sixteen-year-old Alice is diagnosed with leukemia, she vows to spend her final months righting wrongs. So she convinces he...

From the Jacket

What if you'd been living your life as if you were dying—only to find out that you had your whole future ahead of you?When sixteen-year-old Alice is diagnosed with leukemia, her prognosis is grim. To maximize the time she does have, she vows to spend her final months righting wrongs—however she sees fit. She convinces her friend Harvey...

Julie Murphy lives in North Texas with her husband who loves her, her dog who adores her, and her cats who tolerate her. When she's not writing or trying to catch stray animals, Julie can be found in a library smelling old books and manning the reference desk.

other books by Julie Murphy

Dumplin'
Dumplin'

Paperback|Mar 14 2017

$11.18 online$12.50list price(save 10%)
Ramona Blue
Ramona Blue

Hardcover|May 9 2017

$19.58 online$21.99list price(save 10%)
The Cat Who...cookbook (updated)
The Cat Who...cookbook (updated)

Paperback|Jan 3 2006

$20.00

see all books by Julie Murphy
Format:HardcoverDimensions:336 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.09 inPublished:March 18, 2014Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006224535X

ISBN - 13:9780062245359

Customer Reviews of Side Effects May Vary

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“An unexpected twist on the typical cancer story.”