Skywatchers

August 18, 2020|
Skywatchers by Carrie Arcos
$24.42 
$24.99
Hardcover
Earn 122 plum® points
Ships free on orders over $35

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Prices and offers may vary in store

about

From National Book Award Finalist Carrie Arcos comes a thrilling, genre-bending mystery about the history of the Cold War and the UFO phenomenon. Perfect for fans of In the Woods by Tana French and Netflix''s Stranger Things.

The year is 1952. The threat of invasion from the Soviet Union has people in a panic. The government has issued a call to civilians to act as radar--and Teddy, John, Caroline, Eleanor, Bunny, Frank, and Oscar eagerly answer. As members of their high school''s "Operation Skywatch" club, they, along with others across the country, look to the sky in an effort to protect the country from attack.

But they''re not prepared for the strange green light they see when on duty, which looks like nothing they''ve been trained to look out for. So when the mysterious object lands in the forest, Teddy, John, Caroline, and Bunny go in to investigate. Then, they disappear.

In this thrill of a novel inspired by real events, one group of teens will come face to face with the UFO phenomenon and the vastness of the unknown as they try to save one another, and possibly, the world. A powerful exploration of what if.

Praise for Skywatchers:

"The historical time period, astute character development, and suspense-filled writing will draw readers in." --Kirkus Reviews

"An expertly crafted genre mash-up of sci-fi, historical fiction, and mystery, with a dash of thriller that will keep readers racing towards the end. A unique and original tale that will appeal to a wide variety of teens. A must-have for all teen collections." --School Library Journal
Carrie Arcos is an award-winning author of books for young adults, including the National Book Award Finalist Out of Reach, We Are All That''s Left, and Crazy Messy Beautiful. Several of her books have been Junior Library Guild selections and on best book lists. She originally hails from upstate New York; however, Los Angeles is where ...
Loading
Title:SkywatchersFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:368 pages, 8.5 X 5.8 X 1.19 inShipping dimensions:368 pages, 8.5 X 5.8 X 1.19 inPublished:August 18, 2020Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1984812297

ISBN - 13:9781984812292

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: