Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

Sleeping Giants

bySylvain Neuvel

Kobo ebook | April 26, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.99

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

Praise for Sleeping Giants

“As high-concept as it is, Sleeping Giants is a thriller through and through. . . . One of the most promising series kickoffs in recent memory, [and] a smart demonstration of how science fiction can honor its traditions and reverse-engineer them at the same time.”—NPR

“Neuvel weaves a complex tapestry with ancient machinery buried in the Earth, shadow governments, and geopolitical conflicts. But the most surprising thing about the book may just be how compelling the central characters are in the midst of these larger-than-life concepts. . . . I can’t stop thinking about it.”Chicago Review of Books

“A remarkable debut . . . Reminiscent of Max Brooks’s World War Z, the story’s format effectively builds suspense.”Library Journal (debut of the month)

“This stellar debut novel . . . masterfully blends together elements of sci-fi, political thriller and apocalyptic fiction. . . . A page-turner of the highest order.”**—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Don’t miss any of The Themis Files by Sylvain Neuvel:
SLEEPING GIANTS | WAKING GODS | ONLY HUMAN**

Title:Sleeping GiantsFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:April 26, 2016Publisher:Random House Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1101886706

ISBN - 13:9781101886700

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! What a great Sci-fi read! Can't wait for book two. Loved the writing style. #plumreview
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Fun Novel I actually stumbled across this looking for books for my dad. He is very much into sci-fi, whereas I usually am not so much. This book sounded interesting, and I wasn't sure if he would like the format of it (all written through interviews and case reports), so I thought I'd give it a go. I loved it! I read it in a weekend, and immediate ordered the second book. It's really fun and engaging, plus I like supporting a Canadian author. Just waiting for the next book to come out in May!
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was a good read I kind of expected what happened in the end to happen though. But still it was good sci-fi read, can't wait to get my hands on the next one
Date published: 2017-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Science fiction escapism at its best A quick and engaging read, loved it! Neuvel has an incredibly great understanding of what makes science fiction work and makes a great book in an interesting format that worked really well. While there are a lot of reconizable tropes and it borrows/reference classic (and new) science fiction (hello Starbuck!, um, Kara), it somehow feels fresh and original. I bought the second one after I inhaled this one. You won't regret it.
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting format, cool storyline! The format of this book does not allow for as many details as one may be accustomed to. So do not expect to get "objective" details about surroundings or people. However, the story itself was fast-paced and interesting. You could definitely get a sense of the amount of different players in the story. I was a little put-off by the large time gaps, but that's just me loving structure! I look forward to reading the next 2 books!
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4.5 stars for the fast-paced plot and interesting way of storytelling through a series of interviews, journal entries and articles. My initial reaction to discovering that this book wasn't the traditional narration through a character's POV, I was a little hesitant to continue. But early on, the anonymous interviewer that questioned and talked to several different main characters won me over. Neuvel surprisingly managed to build relationships between the characters through the interviewer. The anonymous interviewer was not entirely moral but he was one of my favourite characters with his sarcasm and snark. I'd have to say that the young linguist Vincent was my most favourite though. This book also managed to surprise me a couple of times so that was impressive.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of 2017's Sci Fy's Biggest Hits Being written in the form of official records gives the book a sense of reality that it might otherwise lack since it is about alien artifacts. It was a wonderful read!
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Audiobook I listened to the audiobook of this and it was pretty good as an audiobook but I just found it repetitive sometimes which as a reader is pretty annoying. Would recommend though its a great scifi book! I'd probably recommend not using the audiobook because it would probably go faster.
Date published: 2017-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting I liked the formate of this book, it actually made the book faster to read and follow. The story itself was very interesting and not something I've come across before. Cannot wait to start the second one.
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good read not crazy about the style it was written in but worth the read
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thrilling This book met my expectations
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent, Exciting, & Eccentric This was an excellent debut novel for Neuvel. What makes this novel stand out for me, is the medium the author choose to tell the story in. Sleeping Giants is not written in prose, but instead in files. Interview transcripts, diary entries, even army incident logs. The narrator? They're unnamed, and for most of the novel, completely devoid of any defining characteristics as they tell the tale of a young girl who (quite literally) falls into a giant metal hand buried in a large hole int he ground. I think the unnamed narrator was perfect for this novel. In fact, my biggest complaint about Sleeping Giants is that we may have learnt too much about the narrator. Even if what we discover is subtle and akin to pulling teeth. In any case, the lack of identity in the narrator builds a lovely anticipation for the reader, that really helps propel this story. It is also worth mentioning that Neuvel writes very diverse and well-rounded characters. This is especially worth commendation when you realize the book is almost entirely dialogue. Neuvel effectively creates unique voices for each of the characters without the aid of physical descriptions, or anything else besides dialogue. Very well done. I recommend this read for anyone who likes action, science, political satire, and dry humor.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Neat I liked this Excellent novel. I will reread this one
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic!! Fantastic!! I loved this book! The interview/transcript format was brilliant, the characters were believable and interesting, the story was compelling. And the "nameless interviewer" - I envisioned him to be very much like the "smoking man" from the X-Files. I cannot wait until the sequel comes out in April 2017!!
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Read! This was a really entertaining book! Like The Martian, the humour in this book guides the reader through the plot, while the intense need-for-survival feeling makes this book a thriller. One of my favourites for the new year
Date published: 2017-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quick, easy SF A quick and easy read but one that left me wanting more. There just seems to be a lot more going on in the book's world that the story never gets to, but where I wanted it to go.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME! This book is now on my top favorites list! I love it! Glad to hear there's another book in the series. I can hardly contain my excitement!!!
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! This is a great book! Well-written, engrossing and entertaining. Could not put it down! Well-chosen file/interview format contributes to the book's readability and pacing. The characters are likable (even the nameless agent, but not Alyssa - I'm sure that was the author's intent) and well-defined; they practically leap off the page. Enough humor and sarcasm to have you laughing or snickering throughout the book. I loved it! And I have to say, I did not see the last plot twist coming!.. Time well spent. Can't wait for books 2 and 3! Hope they don't disappoint. Sylvain Neuvel has set expectations very high with his fantastic debut.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Absolutely incredible Such a great and fascinating read! Although I loved all of the characters the only downfall is when one character does something that I found out of character. Otherwise the plot is incredibly interesting and the narrative was different and refreshing.
Date published: 2016-10-17