102 results for

Sort By:

Sorted By: Top Matches
Filtered By:
Books
Social and Cultural Studies
Social Science
New Releases
1 - 12 of 102 Results
Top Matches

In stock online

Available in stores

Nora Ephron meets Bridget Jones's Diary in Guardian columnist Stella Grey’s heartrendingly honest, witty memoir about her online odyssey to find real love in a virtual world. “The literary equivalent of the When Harry Met Sally line, ‘tell me…
Hardcover

|March 2, 2017

$31.36 online

$35.99

save 12%

In stock online

Available in stores

Modern Women is a celebration of some of the­ influential and inspiring women who have changed the world through their lives, work and actions. From suffragettes to scientists, activists to artists, politicians to pilots and writers to riot grrrls, the women…
Hardcover

|May 9, 2017

$31.42 online

$34.95

save 10%

In stock online

Available in stores

From the New York Times best-selling author of Poser: My Life in Twenty-Three Yoga Poses , a ferocious, sexy, hilarious memoir about going off the rails at midlife and trying to reconcile the girl she was with the woman she has become. Claire Dederer is a happily…

In stock online

Available in stores

Historically, major women artists have been excluded from the mainstream art canon. Aligned with the resurgence of feminism in pop culture, Broad Strokes offers an entertaining corrective to that omission. Art historian Bridget Quinn delves into the lives and…
Hardcover

|May 2, 2017

$28.55 online

$32.50

save 12%

In stock online

Available in stores

Mistakes Were Made is a revealing memoir and unexpected love story from model and actress Fiona Lewis about her journey to self-acceptance as she restores a crumbling French chateau. Alone in the French countryside, Lewis reflects on her glamorous youth across…
Paperback

|May 5, 2017

$24.50

In stock online

Not available in stores

Having lost eight friends in ten years, Cooley retreats to a tiny medieval village in Italy with her husband. There, in a rural paradise where bumblebees nest in the ancient cemetery and stray cats curl up on her bed, she examines a question both easily evaded…

In stock online

Available in stores

Empower yourself and the latest generation of girls with this collection of inspiring reflections from notable, highly accomplished women in politics, academia, athletics, the arts, and business, including Madeleine Albright, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, and more. In…

In stock online

Available in stores

Beginning in 1942, with the Eastern Front having claimed the lives of several million Soviet soldiers, Stalin's Red Army began drafting tens of thousands of women, most of them in their teens or early twenties, to defend against the Nazi invasion. Some…

In stock online

Available in stores

At the height of the Red Scare, Angela Calomiris was a paid FBI informant inside the American Communist Party. As a Greenwich Village photographer, Calomiris spied on the New York Photo League, pioneers in documentary photography. While local Party officials…
Paperback

|May 12, 2017

$27.42 online

$27.95

In stock online

Not available in stores

In the vein of The Liar's Club and The Glass Castle , Jenny Forrester's memoir perfectly captures both place and a community situated on the Colorado Plateau between slot canyons and rattlesnakes, where she grew up with her mother and brother in a single-wide…

In stock online

Available in stores

In these pages, Le Ly Hayslip—just twelve years old when U.S. helicopters landed in her tiny village of Ky La—shows us the Vietnam War as she lived it. Initially pressed into service by the Vietcong, Le Ly was captured and imprisoned by government…

In stock online

Not available in stores

The Middlepause offers a vision of contentment in middle age, without sentiment or delusion. Marina Benjamin weighs the losses and opportunities of our middle years, taking inspiration from literature, science, philosophy, and her own experience. Spurred by her…