Special Offer 3 for $20 Select Fiction Bargains

Sofie & Cecilia

August 1, 2020|
Sofie & Cecilia by Katherine Ashenburg
$10.00
Hardcover
Earn 50 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Out of stock online.
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

A surprising, rich and beautiful first novel about women''s friendship for readers of Paula McLain and Elena Ferrante, by a bestselling non-fiction author who has brilliantly turned her hand to fiction.

In Sofie & Cecilia, beloved non-fiction author and journalist Katherine Ashenburg draws upon her formidable skill and maturity as a writer to craft an extraordinary and splendid debut novel. This is the story of a lifelong female friendship, set in the fascinating art world of Sweden between 1900 and 1940, just as modern art and the beginnings of the Scandinavian mid-century modern design movement were inspiring a creative revolution across northern Europe. Loosely based on the lives of celebrated artists Carl Larsson and Anders Zorn ("Nils Olsson" and "Lars Vogt" in the novel), Ashenburg transports us behind both the public and domestic scenes--and canvasses--of these larger-than-life men to reveal the lesser-known but equally astounding and rich stories of the women who married them: restlessly creative artist-in-her-own-right Sofie Olsson, and fiercely private and intelligent curator Cecilia Vogt.
     Here is a gorgeous gem of a book: surprising, unique, layered with insight into the nuances of female friendship as it stretches, changes, and deepens in unexpected ways over a lifetime. Woven effortlessly through this tapestry, like a beautiful motif, is absorbing detail about Scandinavian painting, design, and textile work; European history and sexual politics; the country life, city salons, vibrant art, and folklore of Sweden; and the secrets and challenges of bright, talented women juggling marriage, career, individual aspirations, and family life inside an artist''s household in the early twentieth century.
KATHERINE ASHENBURG is the author of three books and many magazine and newspaper articles. She has written for The New York Times, The Globe and Mail and Toronto Life, among other publications. Her books include The Mourner''s Dance: What We Do When People Die, and The Dirt on Clean: An Unsanitized History, which was published in 12 co...
Loading
Title:Sofie & Cecilia
Format:Hardcover
Product dimensions:416 pages, 8.53 X 6.01 X 1.32 in
Shipping dimensions:416 pages, 8.53 X 6.01 X 1.32 in
Published:August 1, 2020
Publisher:Knopf Canada
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9780735272682
Loading

Recently Viewed
|