Solitaire by Alice OsemanSolitaire by Alice Oseman

Solitaire

byAlice Oseman

Hardcover | March 31, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.13 online 
$21.99 list price save 26%
Earn 81 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

In Solitaire, Alice Oseman has brought to life a vivid, clever, and heartfelt portrayal of what it's like to be a teenager today. This stunning debut novel—which the Times (London) called "The Catcher in the Rye for the digital age"—is perfect for fans of Melina Marchetta, Stephen Chbosky, and Rainbow Rowell.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year—before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of exams and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people—I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that's all over now.

Now there's Solitaire. And Michael Holden. I don't know what Solitaire is trying to do, and I don't care about Michael Holden. I really don't.

Alice Oseman was born in 1994 in Kent, England. She is studying English at Durham University, probably due to the expectation of society, but mostly spends her time obsessing over fictional characters, drawing really dumb comics, and complaining about things on her Tumblr, www.chronicintrovert.tumblr.com. Hopefully, she'll avoid having...
Loading
Title:SolitaireFormat:HardcoverDimensions:368 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.17 inPublished:March 31, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062335685

ISBN - 13:9780062335685

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Couldn't stand it I should really stop reading books like these. This one gets points for being well done, but I really didn't like it at all. Rather than finding comfort or companionship in the universal brokenness of the characters and life, I found Tori to be kinda insufferable, the parents to be frighteningly out of touch and unreal, and the crazy Manic Pixie Dream Boy Who Also Has Issues to be inconsistent and unknowable. Basically, for a book that tries to get you to see the inherent value in people, it had way too many unlovable and rather annoying characters. Maybe that was the point, but I didn't like it and it's made me reevaluate my own angst in hopes that I never end up like that. There were some valid points, which I'm not discounting entirely. It focused on some good life lessons, such as: You're allowed to be sad. People should care about one another. Don't burn down public property. These are all good things to know, but I think I had a pretty solid handle on them before Tori moped her way through this story to deliver her message. Also, I have this thing against contemporary protagonists who's main emotional response is to either run away or burst into tears. I've gone a fairly long time - my whole life, in fact - without ever once having or witnessing a social encounter where someone turned and ran or started silently crying. Maybe I've been unintentionally ignoring the marginalized, angst-consumed individuals who apparently espouse this behavior, but for me, this is about as unreal a response a character can have, and it's my Number One Contemporary Protagonist Sin, thanks to Perks of Being a Wallflower. This book lost a quick two stars the moment Tori said, "I ran." There were some good points. For an angsty contemporary, there was actually a driving force or problem behind it, lthough ***spoiler**I had a very hard time believing that the kids who hacked an outdoor festival and managed to set off fireworks in the crowd couldn't manage to properly light a building on fire. I mean, they managed it eventually, but their first attempt was decidedly lame. The whole Solitaire reveal was a bit lame and anticlimactic, really. I am actually having difficulty coming up with good points beyond that. Everything I think of was actually not that good. I'm gonna stop before I work myself up into a rant, but basically, this book was not my thing. It might be yours if you're into high school drama, self-deprecating, angsty teenage protagonists, and a mild feeling of hard-won appreciation for what is acknowledged to be a pretty terrible life.
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Liked the character, Solitaire mystery was predictable Tori Spring has a blog no one knows about and spends most of her free time blogging, watching movies, or sleeping. This school year brings changes to her life. It brings Michael Holden – and it brings Solitaire. Tori tries to convince herself she doesn’t care about Michael or Solitaire but she’s lying to herself and eventually the truth will come out. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect going into this book. There wasn’t a whole lot to go on just from the cover and the synopsis. I did end up mostly enjoying it. It was a pretty easy read that still managed to touch upon some deep issues, though I wish it had gone deeper into them. And I also really enjoyed all the pop culture references thrown in. Tori’s voice was what really drew me into the book. She claimed to be a boring person, completely uninteresting, but what she saw as boring, staying home every night, blogging, watching movies, no real interest in hanging out every single night or going out every night, I saw as things I could relate to. The not liking to read part was something I definitely couldn’t relate to but I could understand her point of view on it when she explained it. For the most part, Tori hid her depression and her struggles well but there were times it seemed like other characters were noticing. I thought her character was a pretty honest and realistic portrayal of a struggling teenager. I also really liked Tori’s relationship with her younger brothers, how she obviously loved them and took care of them when they needed her. The developing friendship with Michael was really nice as it pushed her a little outside her comfort zone and she seemed a little more open when she was with him. The other names on the cover, other teen characters, were all interesting on their own. Michael just seemed to love life most of the time but there were times we’d get a little glimpse of his own struggles with anger or school. Becky and Lucas didn’t get as much time to make an impression but still managed to become more than simply Tori’s best friend(Becky) and Tori’s childhood friend(Lucas). Charlie, one of Tori’s brothers, was the character I really felt the most for. I wish his struggles had been touched on more than they were but what we did get was heartbreaking while showing him to be a strong and compassionate person. His relationship with Nick, the little we saw, was a huge highlight of the book. At first the Solitaire mystery was fun. It was annoying pranks at the school, harmless, maybe a little farfetched to be executed in real life but still funny. As the so-called pranks became more serious, it started to lose me. It seemed more and more unlikely that the pranks could be pulled off, that there were no clues left behind, that the school wouldn’t have called the police. By the time the big reveal happened, I’d already figured out who was behind Solitaire. As mentioned, I did enjoy the pop culture references, and there were quite a few of them. The book was set in the U.K. so the English spoken and written was, of course, the British version over the American but even though there were a few unfamiliar terms, it was still understandable to me. In the end, even though the mystery lost me, I enjoyed the book for the characters and their relationships. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2015-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A truly honest take to life. Right off the bat I want to say that Solitaire is not a happy book. It's not a book everyone would like. Me? I enjoyed it very much. Tossing aside the mellow reveal and quick ending, the honest down-to-earth narration was my favourite part. The sarcastic but fun mentions about pop culture also added to my enjoyment. The story starts off when Tori finds a sticky about a website called Solitaire and meets an odd guy named Michael. These two things splash her usually depressing existence with colours. The mysterious Solitaire starts pulling pranks on the school and Michael becomes engrossed in searching for the mastermind behind the site. He drags Tori into his investigation and eventually it all pays off when he discovers the possibility that Solitaire may be connected to someone. That definitely peaked my interest. It took me a little time to get into the story but Tori fascinated me the minute I started. I found her boring yet interesting. She's so cynical and personally I loved it. Her honesty made me cringe but I also found myself nodding in agreement a lot of the times. She's conscious about everything around her but generally maintains a nonchalant attitude towards it all. It's a big part of why she finds it hard to fit in anywhere. "This is why you never let your feelings control your behaviour." (p.316). She doesn't do anything that's illogical and I can totally relate. However, as Solitaire's pranks got worse and people started to get hurt, she comes to realize something important. That even though she's not the one physically hurting people, by not acting, she's essentially an accomplice. Gone was the pessimist replaced by a determined believer. Michael Holden. I love that boy. Don't ask me why though because I couldn't really give you a reason. Just know that he's so much more than his awkward surface. I love the gradual change in Tori's attitude towards him! It felt natural and wasn't overly dramatic as some relationships tend to get."...I knew, deep down, that he was the best person you could possibly hope to be - so perfect that he was unreal. And it made me sort of hate him. However, rather than slowly learning more and more good things about him, I have come across flaw after flaw after flaw. And you know what? That's what makes me like him now. That's why he is a real perfect person. Because he is a real person." (p. 346). I appreciated every single word and I'm so glad Michael was able to show Tori that! Becky, Lucas and Charlie all surprised me. They were all more layered than I originally gave them credit for. Becky and Lucas demonstrated the before and after of friendship with Tori. The sibling love between Tori and Charlie earned extra points for me. Her brother is sick but she doesn't treat him any differently. Their mom, on the other hand, I was not a fan of. From the little interactions they had, I can understand why Tori views everything so negatively. I could not fathom her mom's attitude towards her at all and it was sad..... If you want a book that gets you thinking about what really matters, try Solitaire. Its realistic approach will leave an impression on you!
Date published: 2015-03-23

Editorial Reviews

“Intrigue, suspense, and a fairly spectacular climax will appeal to teens asking the big questions.”