Hardcover | March 31, 2015

byAlice Oseman

not yet rated|write a review

In Solitaire, Alice Oseman has brought to life a vivid, clever, and heartfelt portrayal of what it's like to be a teenager today. This stunning debut novel—which the Times (London) called "The Catcher in the Rye for the digital age"—is perfect for fans of Melina Marchetta, Stephen Chbosky, and Rainbow Rowell.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year—before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of exams and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people—I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that's all over now.

Now there's Solitaire. And Michael Holden. I don't know what Solitaire is trying to do, and I don't care about Michael Holden. I really don't.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.17 online
$21.99 list price (save 21%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

In Solitaire, Alice Oseman has brought to life a vivid, clever, and heartfelt portrayal of what it's like to be a teenager today. This stunning debut novel—which the Times (London) called "The Catcher in the Rye for the digital age"—is perfect for fans of Melina Marchetta, Stephen Chbosky, and Rainbow Rowell.My name is Tori Spring. I l...

From the Jacket

My name is Victoria Spring.Sometimes I hate people.This is probably very bad for my mental health.Tori has friends. She has brothers. She has parents. Sometimes she can be bothered to talk to them. Most of the time, though, she would prefer not to have to deal with other people.Until the day she follows a trail of Post-its from her loc...

Alice Oseman was born in 1994 in Kent, England. She is studying English at Durham University, probably due to the expectation of society, but mostly spends her time obsessing over fictional characters, drawing really dumb comics, and complaining about things on her Tumblr, Hopefully, she'll avoid having...

other books by Alice Oseman

Radio Silence
Radio Silence

Hardcover|Mar 28 2017

$19.56 online$21.99list price(save 11%)
Solitaire: Roman
Solitaire: Roman

Kobo ebook|Aug 21 2015


L'année solitaire
L'année solitaire

Kobo ebook|Jul 17 2015


see all books by Alice Oseman
Format:HardcoverDimensions:368 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.17 inPublished:March 31, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062335685

ISBN - 13:9780062335685


Rated 3 out of 5 by from Liked the character, Solitaire mystery was predictable Tori Spring has a blog no one knows about and spends most of her free time blogging, watching movies, or sleeping. This school year brings changes to her life. It brings Michael Holden – and it brings Solitaire. Tori tries to convince herself she doesn’t care about Michael or Solitaire but she’s lying to herself and eventually the truth will come out. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect going into this book. There wasn’t a whole lot to go on just from the cover and the synopsis. I did end up mostly enjoying it. It was a pretty easy read that still managed to touch upon some deep issues, though I wish it had gone deeper into them. And I also really enjoyed all the pop culture references thrown in. Tori’s voice was what really drew me into the book. She claimed to be a boring person, completely uninteresting, but what she saw as boring, staying home every night, blogging, watching movies, no real interest in hanging out every single night or going out every night, I saw as things I could relate to. The not liking to read part was something I definitely couldn’t relate to but I could understand her point of view on it when she explained it. For the most part, Tori hid her depression and her struggles well but there were times it seemed like other characters were noticing. I thought her character was a pretty honest and realistic portrayal of a struggling teenager. I also really liked Tori’s relationship with her younger brothers, how she obviously loved them and took care of them when they needed her. The developing friendship with Michael was really nice as it pushed her a little outside her comfort zone and she seemed a little more open when she was with him. The other names on the cover, other teen characters, were all interesting on their own. Michael just seemed to love life most of the time but there were times we’d get a little glimpse of his own struggles with anger or school. Becky and Lucas didn’t get as much time to make an impression but still managed to become more than simply Tori’s best friend(Becky) and Tori’s childhood friend(Lucas). Charlie, one of Tori’s brothers, was the character I really felt the most for. I wish his struggles had been touched on more than they were but what we did get was heartbreaking while showing him to be a strong and compassionate person. His relationship with Nick, the little we saw, was a huge highlight of the book. At first the Solitaire mystery was fun. It was annoying pranks at the school, harmless, maybe a little farfetched to be executed in real life but still funny. As the so-called pranks became more serious, it started to lose me. It seemed more and more unlikely that the pranks could be pulled off, that there were no clues left behind, that the school wouldn’t have called the police. By the time the big reveal happened, I’d already figured out who was behind Solitaire. As mentioned, I did enjoy the pop culture references, and there were quite a few of them. The book was set in the U.K. so the English spoken and written was, of course, the British version over the American but even though there were a few unfamiliar terms, it was still understandable to me. In the end, even though the mystery lost me, I enjoyed the book for the characters and their relationships. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2015-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A truly honest take to life. Right off the bat I want to say that Solitaire is not a happy book. It's not a book everyone would like. Me? I enjoyed it very much. Tossing aside the mellow reveal and quick ending, the honest down-to-earth narration was my favourite part. The sarcastic but fun mentions about pop culture also added to my enjoyment. The story starts off when Tori finds a sticky about a website called Solitaire and meets an odd guy named Michael. These two things splash her usually depressing existence with colours. The mysterious Solitaire starts pulling pranks on the school and Michael becomes engrossed in searching for the mastermind behind the site. He drags Tori into his investigation and eventually it all pays off when he discovers the possibility that Solitaire may be connected to someone. That definitely peaked my interest. It took me a little time to get into the story but Tori fascinated me the minute I started. I found her boring yet interesting. She's so cynical and personally I loved it. Her honesty made me cringe but I also found myself nodding in agreement a lot of the times. She's conscious about everything around her but generally maintains a nonchalant attitude towards it all. It's a big part of why she finds it hard to fit in anywhere. "This is why you never let your feelings control your behaviour." (p.316). She doesn't do anything that's illogical and I can totally relate. However, as Solitaire's pranks got worse and people started to get hurt, she comes to realize something important. That even though she's not the one physically hurting people, by not acting, she's essentially an accomplice. Gone was the pessimist replaced by a determined believer. Michael Holden. I love that boy. Don't ask me why though because I couldn't really give you a reason. Just know that he's so much more than his awkward surface. I love the gradual change in Tori's attitude towards him! It felt natural and wasn't overly dramatic as some relationships tend to get."...I knew, deep down, that he was the best person you could possibly hope to be - so perfect that he was unreal. And it made me sort of hate him. However, rather than slowly learning more and more good things about him, I have come across flaw after flaw after flaw. And you know what? That's what makes me like him now. That's why he is a real perfect person. Because he is a real person." (p. 346). I appreciated every single word and I'm so glad Michael was able to show Tori that! Becky, Lucas and Charlie all surprised me. They were all more layered than I originally gave them credit for. Becky and Lucas demonstrated the before and after of friendship with Tori. The sibling love between Tori and Charlie earned extra points for me. Her brother is sick but she doesn't treat him any differently. Their mom, on the other hand, I was not a fan of. From the little interactions they had, I can understand why Tori views everything so negatively. I could not fathom her mom's attitude towards her at all and it was sad..... If you want a book that gets you thinking about what really matters, try Solitaire. Its realistic approach will leave an impression on you!
Date published: 2015-03-23

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Intrigue, suspense, and a fairly spectacular climax will appeal to teens asking the big questions.”