Solitary Goose by Sydney PlumSolitary Goose by Sydney Plum

Solitary Goose

bySydney Plum

Hardcover | October 15, 2007

Pricing and Purchase Info

$30.95

Earn 155 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

In the fall of 1996 Sydney Plum encountered a solitary Canada goose on a pond near her home in New England. Caring for the animal became a way for her to reconnect with nature. Walks to the pond were daily rituals-reflective times during which Plum thought about the relationships between humans and animals. Mixing memoir with closely observed nature writing, Plum searches for a deeper understanding of what was changed by the experience with the solitary goose she named SG.

In the tradition of Elizabeth Marshall Thomas, Plum writes lyrical lessons on the life cycle of geese, the mystery of their great migratory patterns, and their amazing adaptability. Canada geese were not always so plentiful in the United States, she explains, nor were they always denigrated as ?flying carp.? Plum shows how species-management programs reestablished the birds outside their previous range at the same time as golf courses, office parks, and suburban ponds began dotting the countryside, providing them with prime habitats where they were unwanted.

Memories of breaking holes in the ice for SG to escape predators turn Plum’s thoughts toward what it means to nurture. Coming to terms with how SG thinks leads Plum to examine anthropomorphism in nature writing. In contrast to the metaphors through which we commonly view nature, Plum argues that science combined with metaphor is a better way to understand animals. Though Plum’s focus is generously outward toward nature, this book also reveals an inner journey through which, as she describes it, ?the enclosures of my human life had been opened. I had become more susceptible to the kindnesses of birds.?

Sydney Landon Plum teaches English and creative writing at the University of Connecticut, Storrs. She is the editor of Coming through the Swamp.
Loading
Title:Solitary GooseFormat:HardcoverDimensions:152 pages, 8.7 × 5.86 × 0.76 inPublished:October 15, 2007Publisher:University Of Georgia PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0820329665

ISBN - 13:9780820329666

Reviews

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments xi

Two Solitary Figures 1
Footprints 21
Th e Life of a Wild Goose 30
Ice 45
Never Underestimate the Animal 49
A Bird Who Cannot Fly 55
Wild Poems 69
Geese, Geese, Geese, Geese, Geese 80
Th e End of Gazing 98
Two Geese and a Duck on a Pond in Winter 107
To Hear Him Again 127

Notes 131

Editorial Reviews

In the tradition of Elizabeth Marshall Thomas, Plum writes lyrical lessons on the life cycle of geese, the mystery of their great migratory patterns, and their amazing adaptability.

- Edgefield Advertiser