Some Do Not: Parade's End: Book 1 by Ford Madox Ford

Some Do Not: Parade's End: Book 1

byFord Madox Ford

Kobo ebook | January 14, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


"Some Do Not" - the first volume of Ford Madox Ford's highly-regarded tetralogy Parade's End, was originally published in April 1924 and has recently been made into a BBC/HBO television miniseries.

The book begins begins with the two young friends, Christopher Tietjens and Vincent Macmaster; on the train to Rye for a golfing weekend in the country in 1912. Tietjens has a brilliant mind, and speaks it scathingly and heedlessly. Both men work in London as government statisticians; though Macmaster aspires to be a critic, and has just written a short book on Dante Gabriel Rossetti. He plans to call on a parson who knew Rossetti, and who lives near Rye. Tietjens is preoccupied with his disastrous marriage.

Ford Madox Ford (17 December 1873 – 26 June 1939) was an English novelist, poet, critic and editor whose journals, The English Review and The Transatlantic Review, were instrumental in the development of early 20th-century English literature. He is now best remembered for The Good Soldier (1915), the Parade's End tetralogy (1924–28) and The Fifth Queen trilogy (1906–08).

Title:Some Do Not: Parade's End: Book 1Format:Kobo ebookPublished:January 14, 2013Publisher:Herne Ridge Ltd.Language:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:


Look for similar items by category: