Someone Else's Garden: A Novel by Dipika Rai

Someone Else's Garden: A Novel

byDipika Rai

Paperback | May 25, 2016

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$5.99 online 
$17.50
Earn 30 plum® points

Out of stock online

Available in stores

about

In the vein of Thrity Umrigar’s The Space Between Us, Dipika Rai’s soulful debut novel is a moving multi-generational tale of mothers and daughters in rural India struggling to break free of the social traditions fencing them in. Standing out among works by Shobhan Bantwal, Chitra Divakaruni, and other emerging Indian writers, Rai’s Someone Else’s Garden offers a rare look at life in the Indian countryside, far from the more well-trafficked literary settings of New Delhi and Mumbai, in an evocative, atmospheric story of one woman’s soulful fight to take control of her life.

About The Author

Dipika Rai was born, raised, and educated in India. She worked as a freelance journalist for many years, writing for various publications around the globe. She divides her time between India and the island of Bali, where she lives with her husband, two children, and her devoted pets. This is her first novel.

Details & Specs

Title:Someone Else's Garden: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.99 inPublished:May 25, 2016Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062000357

ISBN - 13:9780062000354

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Someone Else's Garden: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“In the manner of Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance, this is a multigenerational tale of Indian life. . . . A universal story of good-versus-evil and tradition-versus-modernity as well as of the redemptive power of belief.”