Sophocles' Philoctetes And The Great Soul Robbery by Norman AustinSophocles' Philoctetes And The Great Soul Robbery by Norman Austin

Sophocles' Philoctetes And The Great Soul Robbery

byNorman Austin

Paperback | June 1, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 195 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 3-5 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Norman Austin brings both keen insight and a life-long engagement with his subject to this study of Sophocles’ late tragedy Philoctetes, a fifth-century BCE play adapted from an infamous incident during the Trojan War. In Sophocles’ “Philoctetes” and the Great Soul Robbery, Austin examines the rich layers of text as well as context, situating the play within the historical and political milieu of the eclipse of Athenian power. He presents a study at once of interest to the classical scholar and accessible to the general reader. Though the play, written near the end of Sophocles’ career, is not as familiar to modern audiences as his Theban plays, Philoctetes grapples with issues—social, psychological, and spiritual—that remain as much a part of our lives today as they were for their original Athenian audience.

Norman Austin is professor emeritus of classics at the University of Arizona, where he taught for twenty years, as well as Distinguished Visiting Professor of Classics at Florida Atlantic University. He is author of Meaning and Being in Myth and Helen of Troy and Her Shameless Phantom.
Title:Sophocles' Philoctetes And The Great Soul RobberyFormat:PaperbackDimensions:302 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.9 inPublished:June 1, 2011Publisher:University of Wisconsin PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0299282740

ISBN - 13:9780299282745

Look for similar items by category:

Table of Contents



1. The Problem of Translation        

2. The Strong Poet: Tradition and Originality        

3. The Prologue (Verses 1–134)        

4. The Parados (Verses 135–218)        

5. The First Episode (Verses 219–673)        

6. The Stasimon (Verses 676–729)        

7. The Second Episode (730–826)        

8. The First Kommos (827–864)        

9. The Third Episode (Verses 865–1080)        

    Appendix: The Prophecy of Helenus        

10. The Second Kommos (Verses 1081–1217)        

11. The Exodos (Verses 1218–1471)        

12. Heracles: Deus ex Machina        




Editorial Reviews

“A generous work of literary criticism and an exceptional contribution to the ongoing study of what is perhaps the most perplexing of Greek tragedies.”—Susan A. Curry, Bryn Mawr Classical Review