Souls & Bodies by David LodgeSouls & Bodies by David Lodge

Souls & Bodies

byDavid Lodge

Paperback | January 1, 1990

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.64 online 
$20.95 list price save 6%
Earn 98 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

The ups, downs, and exploits of a group of British Catholics--for whom the sexual revolution came a little later than it did for everybody else...

In this bracing satire, a group of university students make their way through the fifties and into the turbulent sixties and seventies. We first meet Dennis, Michael, Ruth, Polly, and the others at the altar rail of Our Lady and St. Jude, but soon enough they get caught up in the alternately hilarious and poignant preoccupations of work, marriage, sex, and babies--not always in that order.

A satirical comedy in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh, Souls and Bodies take an unblinking look at the sexual revolution and the contemporaneous upheavals in the Catholic Church. The result is as unsettlingly true as it is funny.

David Lodge is the author of twelve novels and a novella, including the Booker Prize finalists Small World and Nice Work. He is also the author of many works of literary criticism, including The Art of Fiction and Consciousness and the Novel.
Loading
Title:Souls & BodiesFormat:PaperbackDimensions:244 pages, 7.78 × 5.08 × 0.7 inPublished:January 1, 1990Publisher:Penguin Books

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0140130187

ISBN - 13:9780140130188

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

From Our Editors

Alternately hilarious and poignant, Souls and Bodies follows a group of British Catholic university students through the '60s and '70s, as they fumble their way into the sexual revolution and through varied crises of love, marriage, and faith