Speak Easy, Speak Love by Mckelle George

Speak Easy, Speak Love

byMckelle George

Hardcover | September 19, 2017

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.57 online 
$21.99 list price save 11%
Earn 98 plum® points

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle’s estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice’s cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement—one that might not survive the summer.

Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother, John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.

Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George’s debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.

About The Author

McKelle George has a degree in creative writing from Brigham Young University. She lives in Salt Lake City with her German shepherd. Speak Easy, Speak Love is her first novel.

Details & Specs

Title:Speak Easy, Speak LoveFormat:HardcoverDimensions:432 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.33 inPublished:September 19, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062560921

ISBN - 13:9780062560926

Customer Reviews of Speak Easy, Speak Love

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Speak Easy, Speak Love is a book nerd’s dream. With the vivid hedonism of the 1920s, a cast of exquisitely drawn characters (with snappy chemistry, and sexual tension that makes you want to smash their faces together), and wit to rival Will himself...loving, fresh, and unputdownable.”