Speak Easy, Speak Love by Mckelle GeorgeSpeak Easy, Speak Love by Mckelle George

Speak Easy, Speak Love

byMckelle George

Hardcover | September 19, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.38 online 
$21.99 list price save 7%
Earn 102 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of romantic misunderstandings and dangerous deals in this sparkling retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing.

After she gets kicked out of boarding school, seventeen-year-old Beatrice goes to her uncle’s estate on Long Island. But Hey Nonny Nonny is more than just a rundown old mansion. Beatrice’s cousin, Hero, runs a struggling speakeasy out of the basement—one that might not survive the summer.

Along with Prince, a poor young man determined to prove his worth; his brother, John, a dark and dangerous agent of the local mob; Benedick, a handsome trust-fund kid trying to become a writer; and Maggie, a beautiful and talented singer; Beatrice and Hero throw all their efforts into planning a massive party to save the speakeasy. Despite all their worries, the summer is beautiful, love is in the air, and Beatrice and Benedick are caught up in a romantic battle of wits that their friends might be quietly orchestrating in the background.

Hilariously clever and utterly charming, McKelle George’s debut novel is full of intrigue and 1920s charm. For fans of Jenny Han, Stephanie Perkins, and Anna Godbersen.

McKelle George has a degree in creative writing from Brigham Young University. She lives in Salt Lake City with her German shepherd. Speak Easy, Speak Love is her first novel.
Loading
Title:Speak Easy, Speak LoveFormat:HardcoverDimensions:432 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.33 inPublished:September 19, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062560921

ISBN - 13:9780062560926

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO.GOOD. I absolutely LOVED this book! There's some gangsters and some prohibition agents and a dad trying to control his son and 6 rebels in Long Island trying to save a speak easy and an inter racial couple who just can't get their crap together and Beatrice + Benedict <3 (they were my favourite) but I also loved Hero and Prince! I hope the author takes some more Shakespeare and retells it. My only complaint is there were a few sentences that had some odd structure (they didn't flow) that caused me to get caught up while I was reading and had to re-read the sentence.
Date published: 2017-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO.GOOD. I absolutely LOVED this book! There's some gangsters and some prohibition agents and a dad trying to control his son and 6 rebels in Long Island trying to save a speak easy and an inter racial couple who just can't get their crap together and Beatrice + Benedict <3 (they were my favourite) but I also loved Hero and Prince! I hope the author takes some more Shakespeare and retells it. My only complaint is there were a few sentences that had some odd structure (they didn't flow) that caused me to get caught up while I was reading and had to re-read the sentence.
Date published: 2017-12-14

Editorial Reviews

“Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing bears up uncannily well . . . readers will be fully immersed in the excitement, glamour, and danger of a culture tipping into rebellion and making way for change in more ways than one.”