Stabat Mater, Op.58 / B.71: Vocal score by Antonin DvorakStabat Mater, Op.58 / B.71: Vocal score by Antonin Dvorak

Stabat Mater, Op.58 / B.71: Vocal score

byAntonin DvorakBy (composer)Josef ZubatyEditorOtakar Sourek

Paperback | January 2, 2012 | Latin

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 83 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Dvorak's Stabat Mater is a work deeply inspired by personal tragedy in the composer's life. Originally sketched between February and May of 1876 as a delayed response to the death of his daughter Josefa, the work was not completed in definitive form until late 1877, in the wake of the passing of two other children (daughter Ruzena and son Otakar). The work was finally premiered on 23 December 1880 in Prague, with vocalists and chorus from the Czech Provisional Theatre conducted by Adolf Cech. The work was first published early the following year by Simrock, with the vocal featuring the piano reduction of Josef Zubaty. The score reproduced here has been edited by Otakar Sourek and was first issued by the Czech State Publishing concern as part of the complete works of Dvorak. Unlike so many of the on-demand scores now available, this one comes with all the pages and the images have been thoroughly checked to make sure it is readable. The score is beautifully printed on off-white stock with a quality cover.

Title:Stabat Mater, Op.58 / B.71: Vocal scoreFormat:PaperbackDimensions:166 pages, 9.61 × 6.69 × 0.35 inPublished:January 2, 2012Publisher:Serenissima MusicLanguage:Latin

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:160874065X

ISBN - 13:9781608740659


Table of Contents

  1. Quartetto e coro: Stabat Mater dolorosa
  2. Quartetto: Quis est homo, qui non fleret
  3. Coro: Eja, Mater, fons amoris
  4. Bass solo e coro: Fac, ut ardeat cor meum
  5. Coro: Tui nati vulnerati
  6. Tenore solo e coro: Fac me vere tecum elere
  7. Coro: Virgo virginum praeclara
  8. Duo Soprano e Alto: Fac, ut portem Christi mortem
  9. Alto solo: Inflammatus et accensus
  10. Quartetto e coro: Quandus corpus morietur