Stalking Ground: A Timber Creek K-9 Mystery by Margaret MizushimaStalking Ground: A Timber Creek K-9 Mystery by Margaret Mizushima

Stalking Ground: A Timber Creek K-9 Mystery

byMargaret Mizushima

Paperback | September 23, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$23.95

Earn 120 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

When Deputy Ken Brody's sweetheart goes missing in the mountains outside Timber Creek, Mattie Cobb and her K-9 partner Robo are called to search. But it's mid-October and a dark snow storm is brewing over the high country. And they're already too late. By the time they find her body, the storm has broken and the snow is coming down hard.While Brody hikes down to bring back the forensics team and veterinarian Cole Walker gathers supplies to protect them from the storm, Mattie and Robo find themselves alone, guarding the gravesite overnight in the dead of the early winter. And that's only the first long, dark night in a series of them, because as their investigation develops, Mattie, Robo, Brody, and Cole find themselves in the middle of the killer's stalking ground - where the hunters have just become the hunted.An effortlessly engrossing read filled with tension, excitement, and heart, Stalking Ground, the second in Margaret Mizushima's lauded debut series, will send a chill down every reader's spine.
Margaret Mizushima, author of the critically acclaimed debut Killing Trail, balances writing with assisting her husband with their veterinary clinic and Angus cattle herd. She lives on a small ranch in Colorado where they raised two daughters and a multitude of animals. This is her second novel.
Loading
Title:Stalking Ground: A Timber Creek K-9 MysteryFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:320 pages, 9.25 × 6.13 × 0.82 inShipping dimensions:9.25 × 6.13 × 0.82 inPublished:September 23, 2016Publisher:Crooked Lane BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1629538345

ISBN - 13:9781629538341

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Stalking Ground :2017 COLORADO BOOK AWARD FINALIST2017 INTERNATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST'Realistic characters and believable plot twists distinguish Mizushima's brisk sequel to 2015's Killing Trail ... Robo proves his mettle as a well-trained detective and a brave hero in this incisive look at small-town police work.' - Publishers Weekly The second adventure in Mizushima's fine series... [is] a taut page-turner on multiple levels. A perfect read-alike for Robert Crais' series starring LAPD officer Scott James and his K-9 partner, Maggie." - Booklist "Mizushima's sophomore outing proves that her acclaimed series debut, Killing Trail, was no fluke... dog loves will want to read this thriller." - Library Journal "The family complications of Adrienne Howard, Mattie, and Cole are as different as they could be, yet the novel succeeds in threading together the relationships into one cohesive theme... Mattie and Robo's teamwork ensure a satisfying read, while Robo's intimidating work ethic delivers a suspenseful and thrilling conclusion." - King's River Life "Mizushima's tale is woven well with believable characters and a compelling plotline." - Noir Journal "In her second absorbing K-9 mystery, Margaret Mizushima delivers tight storytelling and gripping suspense in a fully realized rural Colorado world populated by emotionally burdened sheriff's detective Mattie Cobb and her indomitable working canine, Robo." - Scott Graham, National Outdoor Book Award-winning author of Yellowstone Standoff Praise for Killing Trail :Nominated for RT Book Review's Reviewer's Choice Award for Best First Mystery"Debut author Mizushima's classic police procedural adds a fresh angle involving the work of K?9s. The appealing Robo knows what he's doing, he just needs to train Mattie to trust him. Sue Henry fans will love." - Library Journal starred review, Debut of the Month"The interactions between Mattie and Robo will tug the heartstrings of every dog lover... Mizushima's debut reflects both her skill as a suspense writer and her respect for animals. The shocking conclusion will stay with readers while they wait for the next story in the series. Pair this with Robert Crais' Suspect (2013)" - Booklist starred review"Winning heroine... strong debut... a realistic view of how a K-9 team works, treating Robo as an important character, but never stooping to anthropomorphism. And it's impossible not to fall in love with Robo." - Publishers Weekly starred review"Mizushima does an excellent job of developing [Mattie and Robo] as characters, allowing readers to feel a personal connection to them both. Overall a great debut for an up-and-coming mystery writer." - RT Book Reviews, Top Pick'A terrific debut with a refreshing detective duo - Deputy Mattie Lu Cobb and Robo, her K-9 partner! Margaret Mizushima has crafted a compelling and savvy mystery that explores the big secrets in a small western town. I was cheering on Mattie and Robo every step of the way.' - Margaret Coel, author of The Man Who Fell from the Sky "