Standard Deviation

Paperback | July 11, 2017

byKatherine Heiny

not yet rated|write a review
The celebrated author of Single, Carefree, Mellow, returns with her debut novel - a rueful, funny examination of love, marriage, infidelity, and origami. Simultaneously hilarious and heartbreaking, this sensational debut will appeal to fans of David Nicholls, Nick Hornby, Nora Ephron and Lorrie MooreGraham Cavanaugh's second wife, Audra, is everything his first wife was not. She considers herself privileged to live in the age of the hair towel, talks non-stop through her epidural, labour and delivery, invites the doorman to move in and the eccentric members of their son's Origami Club to Thanksgiving. She is charming and spontaneous and fun but life with her can be exhausting.In the midst of the day-to-day difficulties and delights of marriage and raising a child with Asperger's, his first wife, Elspeth, reenters Graham's life. Former spouses are hard to categorize - are they friends, enemies, old flames, or just people who know you really, really well? Graham starts to wonder: How can anyone love two such different women? Did he make the right choice? Is there a right choice?

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.76 online
$19.99 list price (save 11%)
Pre-order online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

The celebrated author of Single, Carefree, Mellow, returns with her debut novel - a rueful, funny examination of love, marriage, infidelity, and origami. Simultaneously hilarious and heartbreaking, this sensational debut will appeal to fans of David Nicholls, Nick Hornby, Nora Ephron and Lorrie MooreGraham Cavanaugh's second wife, Audr...

Katherine Heiny is the author of Single, Carefree, Mellow, a fantastically received short story collection. She lives in Washington, D.C., with her husband and children.

other books by Katherine Heiny

Single, Carefree, Mellow
Single, Carefree, Mellow

Paperback|May 17 2016

$16.99

Standard Deviation: A Novel
Standard Deviation: A Novel

Audio Book (CD)|May 23 2017

$54.00

SINGLE CAREFREE MELLOW
SINGLE CAREFREE MELLOW

Paperback|Feb 9 2016

$5.99 online$22.99list price(save 73%)
Format:PaperbackDimensions:320 pagesPublished:July 11, 2017Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0008189889

ISBN - 13:9780008189884

Customer Reviews of Standard Deviation

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Single, Carefree, Mellow:'No matter how good you imagine it is, it's better' Glamour US'The stories, which read like Woody Allen meets Candace Bushnell, can be fascinatingly sleazy. But they are always funny' Daily Mail'A wry, bittersweet debut . like Cheever mixed with Ephron' New York Times Book Review'Adulterers, platonic roommates, and suburban neurotics have never been more relatable' US Vogue'Lorrie Moore's influence is palpable . these enjoyable stories mark the arrival of an accomplished voice' Independent'The buzziest book of 2015 . This whip-smart collection about women wrapped up in all kinds of love affairs will have you laughing out loud' Entertainment Weekly'A book about heartache, adultery, love, and loss that somehow manages to be both laugh-out-loud funny and wise, sometimes in the very same sentence . This book is amazing, brilliant, and nothing short of wonderful' Jennifer Close, author of Girls in White Dresses and The Smart One'Heiny's smart and stylishly-written stories are a delight. The women who populate this book are wonderfully human and relatable, both hapless and full of heart' Adelle Waldman, author of The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P'Exquisitely-composed stories (all featuring women in various states of love), Heiny's book takes a disarming and wry look at the inherent nature of betrayal and secrets within relationships' Elle UK'Heiny explores sex, relationships and the internal lives of young women in this charmingly candid collection . Following their stories is like sitting at a dive bar tossing back deceptively pretty, surprisingly strong drinks with a pal who may not always make the best decisions but always comes away with the most colourful tales' Kirkus'Writerly seduction . heart-rending' Janet Maslin, New York Times